Trend Micro Anti-Spyware 3.5 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Chubb, Nov 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Trend Micro Anti-Spyware 3.5 released on 20 Nov 2006

    What's new in 3.5 (from readme)

    • New full scan scheduler added. Enables user to set up daily or weekly scans. To enable scheduler, click the "Options" button, then click on "Scheduled Operations"->"Schedule Full Scan"->"Options".
    • Improved VST. Now detects malware or spyware files when they are created.
    • Includes SSAPI 5.0 as the engine.

    No support for Vista for this new version.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks for the headsup Chubb:thumb:
     
  3. Metting

    Metting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Posts:
    100
    how to get it?

    my TMAS still say that it is uptodate !!

    any recommendation?

    Thanks
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    @ MajorGeeks.com
     
  5. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
  6. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    I tried to use it and register it, I have a new key for 3.0 and it told me I need to pay for it! What the heck!? Shouldn't it work?
     
  7. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    I really want to see this in some tests....
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Well tm antispyware always does quite well in tests, with these improvements its bound to get even better.
     
  9. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I am having the same issue. I downloaded it and straight away it tells me it has expired, no trial version, nothing. Well ok then, i input my license number and it allows me to update it then straight after updating it tells me my license has expired would i like to renew.....
    I don't know what TM is trying to pull, maybe the version 3 license is not valid with version 3.5?
     
  10. blazr63

    blazr63 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Danvers, MA
    I installed it yesterday and when I ran a full scan it deleted Spyware Terminator. I know ST was once considered a rogue app but not currently. Other bad things in my opinion are that it used 35 megs rams on startup (however running the GUI and closing it lowered the ram considerably). Also, after it found what it considered threats, it only gave a total count, without details on what they were. I had to open the log file in notepad to see what actually occurred.

    Trend Micro probably has high detection rates but I'll stick with Spyware Terminator for realtime detection, lower memory usage and better interface. Since I run all my internet apps via Sandboxie I'm not overly concerned about spyware threats.
     
  11. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Well i emailed TM support 4 days ago to try to resolve this license issue and still no response.... I'll give them a few more days i guess before i start the hate mail :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.