Training NOD

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Noddy72, Aug 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Noddy72

Noddy72 Registered Member

Hi all. My NOD distributor had no idea what to tell me about the following queries: hopefully someone here might have the answers :)

I'm a PC tech. I make sure all my customers use NOD32 but I'm finding the latest 5x versions a little too enthusiastic for my own purposes.

The questions I put to my local distributor's helpdesk were:

1) I'd rather use NOD 4 than 5, because it wasn't quite as aggressive, but when I install 4, it automatically upgrades the program to 5. How can I prevent this?

2) If I absolutely MUST stay with 5, how to train it to ask me what to do if it finds anything nasty, instead of just diving in like Terminator and destroying files? I recently moved 20G of data across my network to an archive folder and it wasn't until several days later I discovered that none of the 50 or 60 folders contained any data. All were nicely named, just like the originals, but every one contained 0 bytes. The only culprit had to be NOD32 5.0.95 that was guarding the archive.

But anyway, even it something else was to blame for that incident, NOD has become a little over-zealous, IMHO. That's great for average users, but I'd prefer to have a little more control over what's deemed to be 'dangerous' on my own computer.

2. Janus

Janus Registered Member

Hello Noddy72

Have you try to download the offline installer of nod32 Version 4.2.71, you can find it here: ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4 Regarding your question on how to change Nod32 response to a threat, then take a look on this article, on how to changing "cleaning level" How do I change the scanner's default response to a virus detection? (I have never used version 4, but I think you will find something similar, regarding " cleaning level")

Cheers, Janus

3. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account