Torrent

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Yash Khan, Jun 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I use portable qBittorrent. I also tried portable uTorrent & portable FreeDownloadmanager for torrent & portable Tixati torrent client.

    Now the problem is I cannot associate torrent files/magnet to qBittorrent. I check those options, apply-ok. But when I open the GUI to check they are unchecked again.
    And when I click on magnet files I get a window to allow FDM instead of qBittorrent.

    I tried qBitorrent first, at that time association was no prob. But after trying others I am getting the above probs. Only qBittorrent is on the system now.

    Any info/solution?
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
    Did you try regular installation? I would install regular app, associate files with it, remove regular installation and try to associate with portable.
     
  3. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    I do not think you will be able to associate files with a portable software, as a portable software by definition does not make any changes to the host system. You may be able to associate the files for a given session, but as soon as you close that session and open a new one, you will need to re-associate the files again.
     
  4. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    The association was working fine. Even after program and system restart.
    Something messed up when I tried other torrent clients.
     
  5. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    The association was working fine. Even after program and system restart.
    Something messed up when I tried other torrent clients.
     
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
    Did you try to set it through Control Panel? Control Panel -> Programs -> Default Programs -> Set Associations
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    I wonder if you run the portable qBittorrent as admin when setting file associations.
     
  8. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    qBittorrent is not there. I couldn't find it in the list. What would be the extension for qBittorrent?
     
  9. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I have only 1 account & thats admin. Do you mean I should run qBittorrent with right click as admin too?
     
  10. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I will try the install version & report the outcome here.
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
    .torrent
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    When configuring the file associations, yes.
     
  13. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    This works but temporary i.e everytime I have to open with rightclick admin & select association again.
    I remember correctly, previously it use to work permanently without the need to open with right click admin, & even after system restart too.
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
    @narenbisht clarification:
    Untitled.png

    If you open .torrent files from your browser and set your browser to use a program for that without asking, you have to change it in your browser as well.
    Also, are you really using .torrent files or magnet links?
     
  15. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I removed the portable qbittorrent & installed free download manager to see how its torrent plugin works.
    Now the .torrent extension is there in the default association list.
    And no probs with torrent file association too.

    I want to ask couple things about torrent as I am new to torrent.
    Seeding only starts after the file is completed, right?
    So what is the upload during downloading of file? i.e if I downnload a 1GB file, I see app 300-400MB is uploaded i.e total 1.4GB bandwidth is used.

    And any torrent client has the option to download the file & seed at the same time?
     
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,951
    Location:
    USA
    You could go to the Start Menu in Windows, and then to default programs. Then scroll down to the .torrent extension, and make qBittorrent your default application for torrent files. Are you ok with making qBittorrent your default torrent client?
     
  17. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I set it to qbit & tried. Magnet links didn't worked & qbit didn't opened for torrent files too.
     
  18. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,951
    Location:
    USA
    I guess Windows is unable to set a default application to associate with an extension for a portable app. I'm assuming Windows remembers the path of the default application associated with an extension. If the default application is portable then the path for that application can change each time. It still should allow you to chose which application to use on-demand by browsing to the application, and choosing it yourself. What real-time security software are you using? Maybe your security software is blocking your ability to chose which application you want to use for .torrent on-demand. What Web Browser are you using? Could a browser extension be blocking you from choosing which application you want to use on-demand to open torrent files with?
     
  19. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Ondemand opening of torrent files i.e manually opening of torrent/magnet files from client GUI is working.
    Autoopening i.e clicking on torrent/magnet files is not opening qbit as association doesn't remains selected in the settings.
    Even after setting qbit as default application for torrent files in the windows default files association list, clicking on torrent files doesn't open qbit.
    Association of torrent files remains unchecked in qbit settings.
    I use Chrome & IE with Adblock Plus only. Tried disabling ABP but no success.
    Windows FW & Bitdefender Free. Tried disabling BD too but no success.
     
  20. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
    If you're downloading a file, your torrent client already starts uploading/seeding. Uploading and seeding is the same, but different words are sometimes used for different situations. For example, only if you're download is complete, you're counted as a 'seeder' by the tracker.
     
  21. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Thanxx for the info.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.