TOR

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by wod, Oct 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wod

    wod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Posts:
    17
  2. wod

    wod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    p.s - there is this : network at the :view network button does that mean i am now connected to some network other than LAN ?
     
  3. itsmej

    itsmej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Australia
    hi there
    if it tor you want to use you also have it installed as i see and think you have .
    you need to ad if using fire fox or IE the tor add on
    then at the bottom of your browser you see if its enabled or not
    please be sure to enable this .then try again
    i hope this is of help to you
    itsmej
     

    Attached Files:

  4. itsmej

    itsmej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Australia
    please look at the shots and you will see if you are by checking
    your browser this should also comferm you are using and linking to tor net works..


    ps hope this is allowed?
    itsmejjj
     

    Attached Files:

  5. sfi

    sfi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    68
    First, if you do not have it, you would get Firefox.

    1. Install the addon called "Torbutton" (Tools > Addons > search for it there OR go to the Mozilla Addons page (addons.mozilla.org)).

    2. Then install TOR, it will automatically configure most of your settings.

    3. Start up TOR. Make sure the TOR window has a GREEN onion (That means it is connected).

    4. Click on the Torbutton addon in Firefox(Lower right hand side saying "Tor Disabled") to enable Tor.

    5. Browse using Tor. You are finished the install.

    5a. If you want to browse normally, click on the torbutton again.



    If you want to know about the more advanced features go to the Tor Project's Documentation
    https://www.torproject.org/docs/documentation.html.en

    Hope this is helpful
     
  6. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    This is all unnecessary as on the download page, there is the "browser bundle" - everything already packaged and ready to go including "Firefox". And no installation needed - just run it ;)
     
  7. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    How about add-ons ? can i use adblock plus and NoScript with the Tor bundle o_O Is it ok to bookmark frequently visited websites ? I am new to Tor.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2010
  8. itsmej

    itsmej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Australia
  9. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Kinda slow but :thumb:
     
  10. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Slow :D It now travels at the speed of light compared to a few years ago :p
     
  11. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Oh really?
    Hahahaha, the first time i used it was like 6 months ago, i like that it's as easy as just Click 'n GO! Ready to surf the interwebz anonymously :rolleyes:
    But i rarely use it now, i used it before to post in a retailer website because they were scamming people and . . . Oh well /rant off o_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.