Tor server & Chat Room

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TouchuvGrey, Dec 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TouchuvGrey

TouchuvGrey Registered Member

I am a moderator and a tech in a (ChatBlazer ) chat room. It is occasionally necessary for us to deny access to disruptive persons. We can do this by blocking a name, a specific IP or a range of IPs. Up until very recently this sufficed. We have recently been seeing some of the disruptive members back in our room with Ip's that come back as, Canada, England, Norway, etc. when we know they are in the USA. I believe they are using a tor server to get around the IP block. Can anyone suggest a remedy for this situation ?

Admins: If this post is not appropriate to this forum please feel free to remove it. If you can suggest somewhere that would be more appropriate please let me know.

Mike:(

2. TouchuvGrey

40 views and 0 responses. Can anyone even suggest where i might be able to find an answer for this problem ?

Mike :(

3. sundazing

sundazing Registered Member

From a First Amendment point of view, this is a very interesting question. Why not go to the EFF/Tor directly and tell them about it, for starters?

4. TouchuvGrey

Hello Sun:

Much like this forum, we have our Terms of Service. They are easily accessible. By coming into our room both members and guests agree to them. The disruptive members i mentioned are vioating our Terms Of Service, so i see no First Amendmant conflict. ( I realize this is off topic but i felt i needed to respond ).

Thank you for your suggestion, i will get in contact with them.

Mike

5. sundazing

sundazing Registered Member