Toolwiz Time Machine

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by majoMo, Feb 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Toolwiz Time Machine - Beta

    Info/Download.
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    Doesnt work on my test machine.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Working on win 7.
     
  4. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Working on my XP 32bit. Thanks!
     
  5. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
  6. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,916
    Can somebody explain:

    Is it going to be free?

    When restoring to an earlier snapshot does older snapshots survive?

    Thank you.
     
  7. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    USA
    I assume this app requires a functional vss -- right?
     
  8. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    ► "Toolwiz Time Machine is a freeware for any user. You can use it in any PC no matter for home or for business. It is free for all of you."

    ► Yes. The opposite is not true.
     
  9. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    Being in the beta stage of development, I would be very hesitant about running this in anything other than a testing/virtual machine environment... :doubt:

    TS
     
  10. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,916
    Thanks a lot!

    It means that we'll see a new entrant into this sector.
     
  11. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    majoMo, does that mean if Snapshot 'A' was created on 18 Feb and Snapshot 'B' is created on 19 Feb and now you rollback to (restore) Snapshot 'A" you will then lose Snapshot 'B' ?

    If my understanding is correct, then after restoring Snapshot 'A' you would never be able to roll-forward to Snapshot 'B' (as it would be gone!) ...and that's definitely not good!!! :thumbd:

    TS
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013
  12. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    Getting 'Application Error: the program does not support Windows 9x/ME/NT4/2000' even though I'm trying to install on Windows 8 :rolleyes: .
     
  13. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Just checked Toolwiz forum. The support said they released a new version to fix this. Download link is same.
     
  14. Smash

    Smash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    I've always been interested in this type of technology..I'll test it out.
     
  15. Smash

    Smash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    UPDATE: Made 3 snapshots. Reverted back to snapshot 1, when restarting..snapshots B and C were gone :thumbd:
     
  16. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,916
    Ooops! That means that it is not as fully fledged as Rollback Rx or CTM. Though it can be useful anyway. I mostly use my time machines in this way.
     
  17. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    Just as I suggested in post #11. Farstone's RestoreIT also works the same (unacceptable) way, whereas RollBack Rx and its clones do not lose those snapshots when rolling back. On the other hand I have found using RollBack Rx and its clones place a system at substantial risk, so I now avoid all such programs!!!

    TS
     
  18. Smash

    Smash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    I don't understand the point of being able to make X number of snapshots if they are just going to be deleted anyway. Makes no sense to me.
     
  19. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,916
    E.g. I need special configuration for computing then I configure the comp to be as light as it possible, without AV, HIPS, FW, no internet access, no other resident services et al. This state is stored in a snapshot and I revert to it when I use comp in this way.

    Then when I need to use it for internet and other activities I revert to the latest snapshot. So in my case at least 2 snapshots are necessary.
     
  20. Smash

    Smash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    I understand that...I do the same. What I meant was I dont understand why programs like this one let you make tons of snapshots but they will get deleted automatically without notice.
     
  21. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    I agree. it is a smart way for TTM to only keep the active snapshot. Otherwise the system will always keep a big number of useless snapshots, these snapshots will take a lot of space.
     
  22. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    create a new snapshot before try some new download apps. If I do not like them, I can restore my sysrem to the fresh one. That is a good thing for me.

    If use the old one like Toolwiz Time freeze, I can only test the new program which does not need a reboot. But now, I can restart my testing machine many times.:thumb:
     
  23. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,916
    yep, if the TTM allows restarting in the snapshot it's a real progress with respect to its current Time Freeze :thumb:
     
  24. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    Excellent! Thanks for letting me know. Time to give it a go.
     
  25. MacsGenius

    MacsGenius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    that will take more storage to keep these snapshots. i guess this kinda of apps usually use similar method. RestoreIT from FarStone is a nice one and appeared
    tens of years ago, but it's not solid enough.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.