Toolwiz Time Freeze

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Yash Khan, Jul 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Anyone using TTF?

    I try new softwares. I was using Sandboxie but many softwares were not working properly under Sandboxie, giving errors or after install were getting wiped out.

    I am trying TTF & its working fine.

    Is it a stable & good program?

    There are no settings. How does it updates/upgrades?

    Anything created during TTF "ON" will be wiped out after restart system, right?
    Anything deleted on the system during TTF "ON" will be back after system restart, right?

    Is TTF development ON?

    How is Toolwiz Time Machine?
    Is it stable & good?
    Is TTM development ON?
     
  2. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I have been using it on my W7 x64 machine for quiet a while now with zero issues. Not a single problem.
     
  3. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    TTF or TTM?
    Mine too is Win 7 64
     
  4. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    ToolWiz Time Freeze. Yes all changes one way or the other are discarded on reboot, and it's as if they never happened. I don't use an AV, just TF.
     
  5. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Great.
    Thanxx for the info.
     
  6. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    If I exit the program, is everything cleared or even after exiting, system restart is required?
     
  7. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Toolwiz Time Freeze v2.2.0.3500 has worked fine for me so far on Win 7 x64.

    Tip: the program works properly even if you delete the TTF cache file :D.
     
  8. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Restart.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am not using TTF now but in my opinion, the program can not be any better.

    It is stable, I never had any kind of problem due to using it. Excellent program for trying programs that wont install sandboxed (under Sandboxie).

    Enjoy it

    Bo
     
  10. Reality

    Reality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    689
    Mr Brian, that's the first time Ive seen you being facetious :isay:
     
  11. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
  12. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Just to add to this, whilst lightweight virtualization ensures perfect remediation on the reboot, some kind of additional software restriction is needed to prevent the damage that malware may do in terms of data and identity theft while running on the virtual system. HIPS, anti-executable, and policy restriction programs work well in conjunction with LV, without the performance overhead associated with real-time AV.
     
  13. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    What happens if TF is ON & Windows Updates starts & I exit TF & Windows Updates continues i.e half Windows Updates when TF ON & half Windows Updates TF OFF, what happens in this scenario?

    And it doesn't matter if desktop toolbar & tray icon is enabled or disabled, one process is always running, right?

    Is this from a Japanese company?
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014
  14. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    It has an entry in msconfig-startup. That means it starts with the system. Can I disable the startup entry? Is it required for TF proper functioning?
     
  15. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I would leave it alone. It takes minimal resources and disabling it will gain you absolutely nothing.
     
  16. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Any and all changes will be discarded on reboot. I would change your Windows update setting to manual and do it once per month. That's what I do.
     
  17. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    I wasn't being facetious :). I literally do use TTF v2.2.0.3500 without the TTF cache file. In this case, TTF uses partition free space for its cache.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You can disable TTF from starting with Windows. Look for the setting in the UI and tick it off. And whenever you like to use the program, you can run it from the TTF entry in Start menu.

    Bo
     
  19. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    If I ever stop using Sandboxie, TTF is likely my next destination. I've never used it but the feedback around the web seems very positive.
     
  20. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    MrBrian:

    Any reason why you're not using v 2.2.0.6000? Why are you staying at 2.2.0.3500?
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014
  21. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Which is better in case of malware protection, Sandboxie or Time Freeze?

    By the way, anyone using Toolwiz Time Machine, your experience plzz.
    I am little reluctant to use TM as I read here in the forum that they released a version in Dec 2013 but that version is the same beta version released in Feb 2013. After Dec 2013, no further updates/upgrades too.
    Is the TF included in TM the same?
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I ll answer your question this way. For security, I use Sandboxie. For trying programs that I prefer to try using LV or for trying changes in my system to see the effect of the changes in the system, I use LV. I am using Shadow defender now but TTF is also a very good program.

    To me, its not a question of using either Sandboxie or TTF. I think everyone who doesn't use a Virtual machine, ought to have something like TTF. I see Sandboxie and LV programs as being different,

    Bo
     
  23. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    There is no such option in the GUI.
    I unchecked it in msconfig-startup.
    This will not affect any functioning of TTF, right?
     
  24. Reality

    Reality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    689
    Apologies MrBrian, I misread you. :oops: :)
     
  25. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Narenbisht, in the link below, go to section How to use Time freeze, numeral 1. In the picture you can see the option to disable TTF from starting with Windows. Disabling starting TTF with Windows does not affect in any way the functioning of the program. Thats how I used TTF and how I use SD. Never an issue.
    http://www.toolwiz.com/en/products/toolwiz-time-freeze/

    Bo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.