Tips, Tricks & FAQ's

Discussion in 'Other Ghost Security Software' started by Pilli, Dec 22, 2003.

  1. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    This thread has been started so that you can add useful additional help based on user experience.

    For example: Although DCS has tried to cover most things it is not possible to cover every firewall and router setting to host a chat server.

    You may have a method for using CryptoSuite's encryption capabilities that would benifit other users

    We hope that contributions to this thread will enable all users to get set up and running safely, quickly using all the benifits that CryptoSuite has too offer.

    Thank you - The DCS Team
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Here is a method of setting up a DrayTek 2600 router submitted by CliveT:

    I’ve just hosted a chat session today with the help of the folks using the public server test and have found the following works with my Draytek 2600. If you are having problems configuring CS try these settings in conjunction with the info in CS’s help file.
    From the main router menu (the default is http://192 168 1.1 from your browser), select the NAT Setup menu (under Advanced Setup) and then Port Redirection Table; the screen shown below will appear. It is important that you only redirect the ports you know you need to forward rather than forward all ports, as otherwise you compromise the NAT facility’s intrinsic firewall type security.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachments/draytek.jpg
     
  3. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    I found a little "surprise" in Crypto Suite.
    Open the "About" tab.
    Single click each letter of the word surprise in the CryptoSuite logo
    Wait a few seconds. Early Easter egg or late Christmas present? :)

    EDIT
    Version 1.800 Woops should have read V 1.050
     
  4. Caliban

    Caliban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    Awesome Pilli and by the way, you have way too much time on your hands. ;-) I love Easter eggs! :)
     
  5. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Jason did it before in an early version of PE and I wondered if he had done one for CS - Something he said on one of his forum posts triggered my search ;)

    Forgot to add your sound card must be working
     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Version 1.800? Mine shows version 1.000.... I cannot get the "suprise" to work...

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Yep, 1.800 only I'm afraid Kent :)
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Pilli, can you please have another look in your version number? As my last version even for beta testers is 1.050; could it be you're confusing version numbers with PE which current version is 1.800?
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    ~grin~
    I have to admit that I don't see/hear something special ;)
     
  10. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Typo :eek: Sorry everyone I got PE mixed up with CS It is version 1.050 is the one :D Make sure you have the volume up on your speakers or headphones :)
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Works fine.
    Just made the longest possible word with it:
    topsecuritysuite but no music there :)
    wished it would open some extra window or tab for some new fuctionality or an option to create/access a completely hidden place to hide our encrypted files for all :cool:
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Jooske, Clever but sorry that's three words :p
     
  13. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Heya Alan and Jooske,

    Tell me the secret :D I don't see it..........
     
  14. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Jan, In the CS " About" box there is a large CryptoSuit logo, you have to ckick s u r p r i s e in the correct order on each corresponding letter of the logo, then wait for a few seconds :)
     
  15. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    and you won't actually see nothing, fire up the sound and you could hear it playing.
    Surprising music eh :cool:
     
  16. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    :D :D :D

    How did Pilli discover that one........ ? :D

    Hey, try the characters s t o p .....eh.... :rolleyes: