[Tip] For Dr Web users

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by shorty1, Nov 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    I've been meaning to post this but just haven't gotten around to it:

    If you use Dr Web and you wonder why after updating the virus bases that the new definitions aren't immediately reflected in the SpiDer Guard >> About window, it's because by default SpiDer Guard only checks/reloads the virus base every 60 minutes. Some may recall that in the "Home Editions" it was every 15 minutes.
    But the good news is you can edit the drweb32.ini file so that it will check the bases more often. :)
    To do this, open up the drweb32.ini file (by default -- Program Files\Dr Web)and find "UpdatePeriod = 60m" and edit it the above 60m value to reflect the desired time in minutes. I have mine set to 10. Also, a value of "0"disables automatic bases reloading.

    Anyway, I thought I would just throw this out there. If it's old and redundant info then I apologize.

    edit: Forgot to mention you need to reboot for the change to take effect.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2004
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    @shorty1- GRRRREAT tip! Thanks. I mean REALLY thanks. :D
     
  3. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    These are the better tips......!!!!! Thanks very much!!!
    And by the way, use Dr. Web for about a week now and think the world of it.
    Light, fast, easy.....just what I was looking for!

    Thanks again. ;)

    Putin
     
  4. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    And just to clarify the check/reloading of bases: The drwtoday.vdb file is checked at the specified interval but no bases are reloaded unless it detects a change in the file. And once a change is detected all bases are reloaded.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.