TinyWall Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ultim, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Hungary
    It must be some similar stupid system like Microsoft's SmartScreen. You can upload the installer to Virustotal to verify that it is not infected or something. I guess if enough people download it the warning will go away.
     
  2. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    180
    No Firefox, Virustotal or Whitelistcloud warning here.
     
  3. ioniz

    ioniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    They're standard veracrypt volumes. I log into windows (7, 64bit) with TinyWall running at startup, mount the volumes in veracrypt and then run a batch file that starts most of my apps. I don't know if all of them are unable to connect, but Thunderbird and Telegram definitely don't work. If I open "manage" in TinyWall and hit "apply" after mounting the volumes, the apps connect.

    Since I'm using a batch file anyway, it would actually be enough for me if there was a way to make tinywall "refresh" (same as hitting the apply button in manage) using the command line :-D
     
  4. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Hungary
    upload_2021-10-13_13-55-11.png

    Which option did you select here? The first or the second?
     
  5. ioniz

    ioniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    non-system & not hidden = standard veracrypt volume :)
     
  6. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Hungary
    I understand, but that's not what I'm asking. Option 1 encrypts a partition into a file, option 2 encrypts a partition in-place. Which one did you choose? Both options offer to create a "Standard VeraCrypt volume" in the next step.
     
  7. ioniz

    ioniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    Oh, sorry, option 2, that's what I meant by non-system.
     
  8. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Hungary
    Np, thx. I'll investigate in the evening after work.
     
  9. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi @ioniz, just letting you know the issue is solved and will be part of the next release. Can I ask you to test it on your system before?
     
  10. ioniz

    ioniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    Absolutely, give me the link and I'll test it.
     
  11. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi ioniz, please let me know if this test build solves your problem.

    Of course, others are also welcome to test and report problems :)
     
  12. ioniz

    ioniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    It works, thank you! My apps connected without me having to go into "manage" and refresh.
     
  13. kenw

    kenw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    Brighton, Colorado
    Does TinyWall modify the HOSTS file ? Something did.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2021 at 1:55 PM
  14. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,691
    Tiny Wall will block domain based malware if you tick the box to perform the function.
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I believe it shouldn't be doing this and it actually has a feature to block hosts file modification, was this setting enabled in TinyWall?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.