TinyWall Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ultim, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. netarchitech

    netarchitech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    NY
    Well, for better or worse, this is my first post :)

    Ultim, I've been having a lot of difficulty lately with WMI Provider Host (wmiprsrv.exe) errors...

    The reason for my post here is that the errors appear to be connected to TinyWall on some level...

    After a considerable amount of time googling, I came across this article that seemed to shed some light on the situation...

    The first place I went for more information was the Win10 Event Viewer. The following screenshot shows what I found there:

    https://i.postimg.cc/bvfKw8M7/202106190933-wmiprsrv-error.jpg

    Not much to go on, but there was a ClientProcessID = 4764, so proceeded to Task Manager to look up the process:

    https://i.postimg.cc/0yjpKwgm/202106190940-wmiprsrv-error2.jpg

    So that establishes a connection and still leaves me with more questions than answers...

    Ultim, I'm hoping you might have more answers than questions...I've grown rather fond of TinyWall...

    I want to thank you for your time and ongoing efforts to provide such an elegant tool...

    I look forward to your reply when you have a chance...Thanks again :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2021
  2. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi netarchitech!
    The quoted WMI query in the event viewer is used by TinyWall for the "Apply same rules to child processes" feature. I don't know yet why it fails on your computer, and unfortunately Microsoft is also not being very helpful with the "PossibleCause = Unknown" diagnostic.

    If this WMI error is causing trouble for you, please try unticking this option for all your rules. If no rules enable this feature, TinyWall will stop using the query (aside from its initial construction), so that may help.

    If I may ask: How often do you see this error in the event viewer? Does it happen often, for example multiple times every minute? If it happens relatively rarely, every couple of minutes or so, I doubt this could have a perceivable effect on your computer's performance or reliability. Do your problems go away if you uninstall TinyWall? Or is maybe TinyWall just also a victim of the the errors you're tracking down?
     
  3. netarchitech

    netarchitech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    NY
    Hi Ultim!

    Thank you for the reply and the helpful information...

    Unfortunately, it wouldn't be the first time I've experienced errors/difficulties that confounded experts. With that said, I believe I owe you an apology for being an alarmist...Upon stepping through the information you've so kindly provided, I have come to realize the issue was not as prevalent/dire as I once thought...

    How often do you see this error in the event viewer?
    Numerous times at first, but after ordering the results by date/time, just a couple recently...

    Does it happen often, for example multiple times every minute?
    See above...

    Do your problems go away if you uninstall TinyWall?
    No...I haven't gotten to this stage (uninstallation/reinstallation) of the overall process yet...

    Or is maybe TinyWall just also a victim of the the errors you're tracking down?
    It remains a possibility at this point...As a result of further investigation, it appears that TinyWall is not the only program kicking out errors while dealing with WMI...

    Thanks again for your time and attention to this matter...I really appreciate it!
     
  4. AlphaUMi

    AlphaUMi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Hello, @ultim , have you checked this issue? I'm very exhausted to have to disable the firewall every time I want to start Steam or other apps that are installed on external hard drives, or to have to re-add them every time even if they are whitelisted.
     
  5. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    TinyWall 3.0.10
    Windows 7 SP1 Professional x86 (brand new installation)

    Connections monitor not displaying any info at all.
    "Show active connections" checked
    "Show blocked apps" checked

    But, as soon as I check "Show open ports" all info gets displayed.
     
  6. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    Mr. X - I don't think this is unusual, I believe you are talking about 2 different things.

    Many ports are open and listening on our systems, with no active remote connections or blocked apps.

    If you look, the remote port probably says 0.0.0.0 which is your local computer. This is your computer doing background tasks.

    There are many windows processes and modules that use ports in this way.

    Right now on my system I see modules lsas, wininit, event log and other services under the svchost process.

    Try downloading the free Sysinternals utility called TCPView. It gives a little different look at all the ports in use.
     
  7. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks @g17 but I think this time is different.

    I need @ultim to have a look.
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,840
    hi
    i'm tring tinywall
    for what i have understood it block everything program
    i have to white list the programs i want to connect to the net , like firefox and chrome
    right?
    thanks
     
  9. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    Is this program abandoned?
    No signs from @ultim
     
  10. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,282
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Give him a break, maybe he's on vacation...
     
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    I hope @ultim is ok. No signs of him for too long I think. His last post was on June 25th.
     
  12. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    USA
    Hello mantra...Have you seen this? https://tinywall.pados.hu/faq.php Also I believe any questions you might have can be found in this thread. Most likely you will not have to go back too far. Good luck.
     
  13. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    Correct! Multiple ways to allow via right click. Very simple to do.
     
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,840
    hi @Rainwalker
    yes , i have read the page , you know i come from outpost , eset smart security firewall .. they work differently
    thanks
    @Bertazzone
    hi
    can i block a range of ips for a program ?
    and is there a way to have a pop up for every ip ?
    i mean i run a program , it tried to make several connections to several ips , can i have all the pop ups?
    if yes , could you please post a screenshot
    thanks
     
  15. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    Sorry @mantra, I haven't used the current version extensively and I'm not currently, so I can't answer that question.
    TW is meant to be pop-up free, but users may change that behavior. Not sure about ips though.

    You may also want to try Comodo Firewall to accomplish what you need.
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes I hope he's OK too. I'm very happy with TinyWall, although I do think certain things needs to be improved. I find it quite annoying that when you change the configuration and you click on Apply that the main GUI will close to the tray.

    BTW, I noticed that svchost.exe will connect out eventhough it's not whitelisted in Applications Exceptions. But I suppose this is because of the settings in Special Exceptions? And if you uncheck Windows Update, is this enough to block Win 10 from automatically installing updates?
     
  17. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, his not being here is certainly concerning.
     
  18. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,282
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
  19. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    He always have watched Wilders to give support.
     
  20. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Hungary
    Sorry for my temporary absence and for the concern I've caused. I'm here and well.

    @AlphaUMi: This is a known issue and I hope to have solved this soon.
    @Rasheed187: Yes, at least on my system, disabling Windows Update in TinyWall blocks Windows from automatically installing updates.
    @Mr.X: Your issue with not seeing any blocked connections is strange, though I have seen it once on a different user's computer on a Win7 installation. I was even allowed to debug this remotely as he was kind enough to let me log in using TeamViewer. Unfortunately I didn't find a solution to the problem then. Windows (WFP/BFE) simply stopped delivering all info related to blocked processes. All API calls succeeded, but the callbacks about event notifications from Windows just never fired. For him it worked after a reboot, but then the problem started happening again after some uptime until the next reboot. I was suspecting some installed software or driver that was causing the issue in the background, but never found out which one, it was far-far away from a fresh Windows installation. It is expected that open ports for example are still shown, because although they are displayed in the same window, functionally a completely different part of the Windows API is exercised to get that info. This more or less only shows that the problem is not with the GUI. If your problem is due to the same reason as that other user's, it is not even a TinyWall issue. Would you like me to verify this using AnyDesk?
     
  21. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yes I do
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Good to here from you and thanks for the feedback. The reason I asked is because I configured a new laptop for my friend but I noticed that Win Update Stop isn't freeware anymore, so I needed another solution to block updates for Windows. So this should do the trick, cool.
     
  23. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Hungary
    A general info for everybody, the current version (3.0.10) of TinyWall is fully compatible with Windows 11. Though Windows 11 has not yet been officially released by Microsoft, I've successfully tested TinyWall on its release candidate, so it is very unlikely anything will break until the actual final release.

    As for the development of TinyWall itself, a new version is in the making. It has nothing to do with Windows 11, just the usual round of fixes and new features.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2021
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Good to know that it's running on Win 11 and that a new version is coming up. Will this have the new GUI that you was planning to develop and can you give us a sneak peek? :p
     
  25. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Hungary
    New GUI? I'm not sure what plans you're talking about. I might have talked about earlier how I should probably modernize the GUI, but I'm pretty sure I never said this is for the near future. Before that I need to migrate away from .Net 3.5, and that alone is a journey of its own, starting soon(ish). So no new GUI for now, sorry. The changes already implemented can be previewed in the changelog on the website. Stuff that are still coming not included.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.