Tiny Firewall "Abandoned by TinySoftware & CA"?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AJohn, Apr 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AJohn

AJohn Registered Member

Since a lot of people here use Tiny, but dont participate at it's official forums, I have decided to pretty much copy a post from the official forums done by "CVSCorp" in an effort to get popular opinion here at Wilders. Here is his original post(http://www.tinysoftware.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=2206):

":mad: Abandoned by TinySoftware & CA

In June 2005, Computer Associates purchased Tiny Software and all their firewall products, but left us (former TPF users) hanging out by the roadside, with no further support, upgrades or forum support from CA or Tiny Software.

I have been using these products for some twelve years, and have watched Tiny Software sell them off to companies like Kerio, Winroute and now CA.

This is what we got for our loyalty to product. At this point, it looks like CA has torn the TPF firewall apart, and now markets what we have for $99.00, to the high end server market, or government clients, for thousands of dollars. I have not found a CA firewall product with comparable features, or an upgrade to TPF from CA, for TPF's "former users".

Just about the time when Tiny Software released it's HSS product, a product well written and easily configurable by the home or SOHO market, the company was sold to CA, and apparently, HSS development, or improvement for the SOHO market is at a stand still with no plans to continue it's development, improvement or use.

That is truly a shame. It seems whenever a truly good firewall hits the market, at a reasonable price, someone will take it off the market, and leave the average user to fend for themselves, in an ever increasingly threatening world.