Timountermonitor - CA Anti-spyware Conflict

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by arstearns, May 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arstearns

    arstearns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Hello,

    OS:
    Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2

    Problem:
    cctray.exe from CA Anti-spyware 2007 hangs on shutdown or restart requiring manual closing (End Now button).

    Workaround:
    Prevent Timountermonitor.exe from loading on startup.

    Hopefully, you Acronis' techs will resist the temptation to say "contact CA (Computer Associates)". Easy for you and useless to your paying customers.

    There is some kind of interaction between CA's cctray.exe and Acronis' Timountermonitor.exe that causes cctray.exe to hang on shutdown or restart requiring manual closing of cctray.exe (End Now button).

    It would be nice if Acronis and CA could communicate to find the cause of and solve this problem.

    Warmly, Al Stearns
    The Computer Guy
    Supporting PCs since 1982 and networks since 1990
    Certified NetWare Engineer (CNE), CNE3, CNE4, CNE5, A+ Certified)
    Novell Support Connection SysOp Alumni (7+ years)
     
  2. arstearns

    arstearns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Hello,

    Here is some additional information.

    Elsewhere on this forum, Timountermonitor is described as necessary to mount images. However, WITHOUT it loading on startup and WITHOUT it running in Task Manager, I can mount images from my TIB files. I do occasionally get a message that TI cannot assign a drive letter, but it does anyway and I can access the contents of my TIB file as a mounted drive.

    This being the case, the workaround AND solution to this problem is to prevent Timountermonitor from loading at startup.

    Would Acronis please look into this? Perhaps you can eliminate the need for Timountermonitor altogether, since it does not seem necessary to mount an image (except to prevent a "cannot assign a drive letter error").

    Warmly, Al Stearns
    The Computer Guy
    Supporting PCs since 1982 and networks since 1990
    Certified NetWare Engineer (CNE), CNE3, CNE4, CNE5, A+ Certified)
    Novell Support Connection SysOp Alumni (7+ years)
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello arstearns,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please see this post regarding Timountermonitor purpose.

    As for the issue you encountered, please make sure you use the latest build of Acronis True Image. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Please also make sure you are using the latest version of CA Anti-spyware.

    If the issue persists after updating, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please make a screen shot of the Device Tree application the way described in this previous post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    However, please be aware that as Acronis True Image is functioning properly, it is the problem of the CA Anti-spyware and should be handled by it's own support team.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    If you haven't already done this: Run msconfig and Click the Startup tab and uncheck the box next to Timountermonitior. Restart your machine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.