TI9.1 Server and UniversalRestore Build 3854

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Robi, Dec 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robi

    Robi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Hey all,

    I've just installed TrueImage Server 9.1 (Build 3854) with the Universal restore Option on one of my Testservers (HP-ProLiant DL380). This Server uses a SmartArray 6i controller. I configured 2 HD as a RAID 1. I installed
    Windows 2003 Server Standard version (SP1) on it.

    1) I created a Boot-Image ISO-File to get the Recovery CD.

    2) Then I made a full Image from my Windows 2003 System to a USB HD. All
    went well.

    3) Then I changed both HD's with new ones, bootet from the Recovery CD
    and restored the system from the TI-image on the USB HD.
    All went well. The Server booted into the new recovered System, and
    Windows started ok.

    (Strange, I've never seen a window asking to use universal-restoreo_O??)

    4) Then I took a different Spare-Serverhardware (HP-ProLiant DL360). This
    server uses a Smart-Array controller type 5i. (so the above created image
    won't boot since the array-drivers are different, therefore I need the
    universal restore)

    I booted from the Recovery CD, restored the image again from the USB HD
    and TI told me after a few minutes, the restoration went well.

    5) So I rebootet the server but windows didn't boot, It just keeps rebooting.
    (I have never seen the faintest hint about universal restore)

    Question 1: Does Universal Restore work with this build ?

    Question 2: How do I activate universal restore ? Somewhere in the help file
    there is a text which says: to activate UR you have to switch it
    on. I don't see where I can do that.

    regards robi
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Robi,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that in order to use the Acronis Universal Restore functionality you should first install Acronis Universal Restore using the latest build of the product and then create Acronis True Image Bootable CD with Acronis Universal Restore plug-in. You can find the detailed instructions on how to use perform these actions in chapter 2.1.1 "Acronis Universal Restore installation" and chapter 9. "Creating bootable media" in the Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows User's Guide.

    To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  3. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    And ofcourse UR is an Addon and should be bought seperately!
     
  4. Robi

    Robi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Hello Support..come on..

    sorry, my mother tonge is german, therefore I can't write in the exact word's how angry me your answer makes.

    Dont' tell me such nonsense answers. As you could see if you want to, I use the latest build from TI (3854) This build is on the download page for registered user. So I have already registered and use the latest version. I also have bought and registered universal restore. There's no help at all with your nonsense tips.
    By the way, I have yust received a TI version from support (385:cool: which corrects above mentioned error about universal restore. But this fix is not yet down loadable on your website. Don't know why this takes so long to put a fix on your web.
    :thumbd:


    regards robert:
     
  5. leadfoot93

    leadfoot93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    robi, what was the new version they gave you?
    because the 3854 just does not work :(
     
  6. Robi

    Robi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Leadfoot93,

    I phoned the other day with a support people. He has
    sent me a file called TrueImage9.1ES_special_dbg_s_e.iso
    with a build 3858.

    This version with universal restore inkluded works for me.

    I don't understand why it takes them so long to place this fixed build
    on the download site. It's a pitty, acronis should have a better support.

    regards robert
     
  7. leadfoot93

    leadfoot93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Robert,
    I was also supplied that same image this morning and it worked like a charm.
    Ken
     
  8. grd100

    grd100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I would like to get a copy of this .iso update file ASAP. I am in the middle of creating a new server. Please send this file directly to me or a link where I can download it. Thank you very much.
     
  9. lostfox1

    lostfox1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Would anyone be so kind to copy me on that file link also? I am right in the middle of an Oracle server upgrade with new hardware and its not going so well. THX
     
  10. Robi

    Robi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    grd100,lostfox1

    call acronis support to get this file.

    regards robi
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Robi,

    Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

    I am sorry for not being accurate enough in my explanation. When I read your post for the first time and your question "How do I activate universal restore ?", it made my think that you have installed Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows only (without installing Acronis Universal Restore).

    Please also note that the ISO image (TrueImage9.1ES_special_dbg_s_e.iso) you mentioned is a special version of Acronis True Image Bootable CD, which uses for investigation issues related with Acronis Universal Restore. And the build of Acronis Universal Restore can be different from the current build available on-line.

    Also please note that since the issue is fixed in that special version the fix will also be included in to the next build of the standard version of the product. I'm sorry, but at the moment the exact time-frame for that is not decided yet.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello grd100 and lostfox1,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that as it was stated above this special version is not available on-line. Therefore, if you experienced problems with Acronis True Image and Acronis Universal Restore, please describe step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and submit a request for technical support. Also attach the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, serial number, etc.). We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.