TI11 backups are larger then TI10...why?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by archer44, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. archer44

    archer44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi!
    I did a clean install of TI11 yesterday. After testing it would access TI10stored backups, I set up weekly full & daily incremental for 2 partitions just as w/ TI10. The full backup is about a gb larger. I can limit this by excluding the pagefile, but didn't have to with TI10. Use 'high' compression, auto size & save on 2nd hard disk, same location as previously. Have no clue why there's such a large difference in file size. Any suggestions? Thanks...
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2007
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Are you saying that while TI 10 automatically skipped the Pagefile that TI 11 includes it in the backup?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    My TI 10 and 11 images are approximately the same size. I haven't noticed an increase and I didn't change any default "exclusion" options.
     
  4. archer44

    archer44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Are you saying that while TI 10 automatically skipped the Pagefile that TI 11 includes it in the backup?

    Hi! In answer to above: I didn't mean TI10 skiped pagefile, it backed up everything, no probs., but was approx. 1 gb smaller than TI11 backup. I can take approx. 1 gb off TI11 backup by excluding pagefile, but don't see why this should be necessary!
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    ATI prior to version 11 did by default exclude the page file and hibernation files except for small placeholders, since those files are rebuilt when Win boots, there's no need to save them in their entirety in the backup.

    Haven't checked wheter ATI 11 does the same, but I can't imagine why it wouldn't.
     
  6. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    My comments below assume you are imaging partitions and are not doing a file and folders backup. That to me is unexplored territory full of nasty beasties in the undergrowth:eek: .

    If the whole page file is being included rather than just a place holder something is radically wrong. If you did the restore when booted from the rescue CD I cannot see how any page file volume would be included.

    If you have Windows system restore turned on it will have created at least one more restore point when you installed V11 that together with an automatic restore point or two could explain the difference.

    Xpilot
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    You can create two backups, back to back and they won't necessariy be exactly the same size. Windows is always doing something even when the user ain't doin' nothin' and the hidden directories on the source drive can change jsut while you're sitting there. However, the huges diffs in size are probably just what xpilot suggested.
     
  8. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    No way is it a pagefile issue. It may be the creation of a restore point between backups, as mentioned before. However, there may be a far simpler reason. TI11 is using a new image format. You can see this by trying to read a TI11 backup with a TI10 or earlier Recovery CD. You will be told the file is not a True Image backup file. The new format could very well be using a different compression model. Depending on the type of data you image, you could see the TI11 backup be larger or smaller.

    I suspect the new format is an attempt to solve the corrupt image problem. For all the problems we are seeing with TI11, corrupt images do not seem very prevalent.
     
  9. archer44

    archer44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi all! Cleaned out temp folders and dumped all but last sys. restore--there were several-- & then defragged & finally tried a full backup again. This time the size was about the same as w/ TI10. So that was the answer. Thanks for the advice--it worked!
     
  10. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    I have installed the trial of TI11 and have not been able to create a tib that is not corrupt, I have tried altering the priority and hard drive speed thing and turned automatic validation off and on and none of the images will validate either from Windows or the CD.
    All images have been made of my C:\ drive to another internal drive, both are IDE drives. TI 8, 9 and 10 have always been successful.
    I have even tried validating an image made with TI10 4942 from Windows, 75% of the way through I got a blue screen. I then tried validating the same image from the CD and this validated successfully, trying to validate from the CD the same image copied to my external USB drive and checked with a MD5 sum stated that it would take 3 hours, quickly followed by 4 hours and then 5 hours, at this point I cancelled out.
    I have now downloaded and installed the trial again and will have another go.
     
  11. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Sorry to hear that. That's not good news. I was hoping for some imrovement here.
     
  12. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    I will run some more tests but I am going out shortly and so it will be tomorrow before I can get back on my machine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.