TI10 boot disk wont work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by fusion1296, Dec 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fusion1296

fusion1296 Registered Member

hi all ,
    i have been using TI10 for the past 2 years and have made and recovered images to a Hard drive in a caddy in my PC ( which i then take offsite for security ) i have done this using the boot cd in the safe mode as i have not needed the advance drivers .
    i now no longer want to use the caddy solution as i have a NAS and USB harddrives , i can perform a backup no problem from within a windows environment but i cant restore the backup at all using the boot cd in advanced mode , it sees the NAS but crashes while its restoring , as i result of this i copied the image file to my USB harddrive but with this plugged in and the advanced boot option selected the PC crashes before completing the boot .
    it seems a great product for backups but not so good for restores , defeating the whole point really .
    if i take the HD out of the USB enclosure and put it in my drive caddy and then use the safe option all works fine but that is a pain in the bum .
    any suggestions as to the best way forward , i have tried 3 USB harddrives so cant afford to try anymore and tried 2 different NAS drives all the same results , seems to me that the boot disk is not doing its job , i have burnt 6 of these using different PC's and burning software .
    hope someone can help me , thanks

2. Xpilot

Xpilot Registered Member

In cases like these A Bart PE CD with a Version 10 TI Plugin usually seems to do the trick. There are several How To articles and posts to be found on these pages.

I also use swappable main hard drives in caddy drawers. I went this route nearly two years ago because I found it far more convenient, faster and more secure than using external storage drives. Perhaps you have been using yours in a different way to mine.

As brief as I can :-