TI10 Boot CD Mouse failure

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ealger, Oct 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ealger

    ealger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    I just downloaded the trial versions of both TI9 and TI10. I made a bootable CD for both versions. I boot the TI10 CD and it loads OK. However, when I move the mouse, it immediately reboots the machine.

    The TI9 trial version bootable CD works OK and the mouse functions properly.
    Win2K Pro OS.
    What?
    Ed...
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Could you give some information on what type of mouse you are using?

    USB\PS2\SERIAL\USB Bluetooth\USB Wireless etc also the make and model.
     
  3. ealger

    ealger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    The mice I've tried are:
    Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse USB
    IBM PS/2 M/N M-SAM-IBM5
    Logitech PS/2 M-CAB48A

    The cpu is Pent III with 128M ram running Win2k

    I tried the TI10 boot disk on another system with the
    Micosoft basic USM mouse and the TI10 boot CD works OK.

    On the Pent III machine, TI10 wrote an image of C: to a
    USB external HD just fine. Also, when I boot from the TI10
    Boot CD I can restore IF I only use the KB keys and avoid the mouse.
     
  4. ealger

    ealger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Update:
    I believe the problem is now related to the video driver on the IBM NetVista system.
    It's a model 6578-KAU with Intel 810E video chipset The last and latest video driver is installed.

    I think it's video related because when the boot loader is fully loaded, the curser is a pointer. On my new systems, the pointer is a graphic hand.

    If I boot into Safe mode, then the mouse works, but my external USB HDs are not seen. Sigh!
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ealger,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Could you please collect the following information on the computer where you experience this issue?

    1) Boot the computer from the Bootable CD create with trial version Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. Create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. After that rename this sysinfo.txt file to sysinfo9.txt for example.

    2) Boot the computer from the Bootable CD create with trial version Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. Create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) the same way once again. Rename this sysinfo.txt file to sysinfo10.txt.

    Also create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.