TI v10 new build?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by act8192, Feb 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    I just was reading a post that there's a new build. Can't find that post at the moment.
    I'm on v10 build 4871.
    I apologize for being stupid, but where do I find the new build and why do I need it? outlook fixes or something like that?
    Is there a place that I'll know where to go next time so I don't post dumb questions. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    You need to log into your Acronis account and then look in either Product Updates or Registered Products to find the updates.
     
  3. MTX

    MTX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
  4. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    THANK YOU very, very much. That'll work. I don't know why I had to re-register the product key I got in November, but I don't care. Could be because they had to reset my password as well. I'm not doing too well, am I :)

    Do you normally uninstall current version before a build change? And should I make a new CD with the Linux stuff?
     
  5. cprtech

    cprtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    Canada
    From Acronis in a recent post:

    ...but in their FAQ's they state it is okay to install overtop the previous build:

    "Do I need to uninstall the existing version of Acronis True Image prior to installing the latest update?

    No, this is not required. You can install the latest update for Acronis True Image 10 Home over the existing version. To do this, run the installation program and select the "Repair/Upgrade Acronis True Image" option."


    Go figure o_O
     
  6. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Once again, thanks to all.
    It all worked fine. Then I remembered to read the sticky PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST which has the latest build link :( Thanks for being gentle.

    cprtech, I was confused here as well. I decided to uninstall (it did leave few traces), reboot, install, register, reboot for the new build. Flawless process. All is well.
     
  7. impi07

    impi07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    When will the German version be out? I´m having trouble restoring a vista-image on a different hard disc. Unfortunately I cannot download the English version with my serial.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Would like to make some clarifications about installation process.

    cprtech, as you noted there is no need to uninstall the previous build of Acronis True Image prior to installing the updates. However, as it stated in <PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST> and as Marat noted the best way to proceed with updating the product is:

    - completely uninstall Acronis True Image from your system and reboot the computer (via Start -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image Home);

    - carry out a clean installation of the latest build you have downloaded.

    act8192, please note that we recommend to create a new Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media using the latest build, because each new build contains certain fixes and brings such improvements as better hardware support etc.

    impi07, please have a look at this previous post of mine about updates for the German version of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.