TI restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by irvdk, Nov 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    I have been working on this all day and still can't get it to work.
    I am trying to restore the windows folder and it is just sitting here doing nothing. What am I doing wrong?

    Please would someone tell me how to get in touch with a human being? I already bought a support case thinking that I would be able to get to someone......PLEASE
    Irv
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi irvdk,

    You are trying to restore the Windows folder..? That sounds real scary. Can you explain what has happened to lead you to this action.

    o_O
     
  3. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    I don't know where to start.
    First off know that I am using a SATA drive for C:\.
    I went in to the bios and changed some settings. Got an error back that the ntoskrnl.exe was corrupt. After screwing around for a few housr I finally got it to overwrite it from WinCD.
    Then it came back and said that the file Window\config\system was corrupt.
    So I did what is explained in the KB 307545 sheet. It booted, but all of the programs are goingto have to be repaired as it does'nt have any of the registration number, not even for windows.
    So I had a backup from the 22 of Nov and figured that now that I could get into windows I would resore the image of the C drive. It went through until right before it was finish and then reported that it could'nt replace windows as it was being used.
    So, I thought that I could just restore the windows directory and everything would be ok. I do have all of my personal files etc on another partition.
    Does that help you??
    Thanks Irv
     
  4. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    From your post my understanding is that you have a good FULL backup of your system partition and the MBR.

    If my understanding is correct then do the following (if I have misunderstood you then DON'T).

    • Boot from the ATI bootable CD
    • Restore the system partition from the good backup
    • Reboot into Windows
     
  5. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Now it gets really confusing. I am using a USB external drive for the backups. So when I do as you told me to it is showing the image drive C: with the .tib file. It won't let me restore to the c: drive...
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    1. Did you make your backup using the "image" option or the "files & folders" option?
    2. If made using the image option, did you tick the disk 1 option or did you tick the Drive C partition?
    3. Does your computer contain any hidden or recovery partitions? These can be seen in the Disk Management section.
    4. When you tried to do the restore and it would not allow, are you sure you were selecting the proper partition? Use drive names rather than drive letters. Drive letters may be different in the recovery CD than displayed in Windows.
     
  7. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    I backed up using the image Option
    I ticked the drive C: partition
    Nothing Hidden
    I am sure as I have them labeled differently.

    The problem is that the Software recovery is seeing the USB drive as C:. Therefore it won't allow me to restore to that partion.

    With all of the drive letter changing that it does it's a wonder that it works for anyone.
    I already re-installed the system, but thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.