ti home v10 not able to restore tib's from v8

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by intrax, Jul 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. intrax

    intrax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Hi,

    I'm trying to restore an image I made back in 2004, I believe (not sure) using TI v8. I'm using TI Home v10 right now and it refuses to recognise the tib file and displays the error: 'not a valid tib archive'.

    Checkimage.exe comes up with an error 113 unable to open file !

    The file was archived on dvd and I copied to HD, but same result.

    Any solutions for this ?

    The worst thing that can happen is this, Acronis changed the tib file format in later versions and now older archives are left in the dark... this is truly BAD, BAD, BAD...

    I used to always use Acronis for image backups..now rethinking ! :thumbd:
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do you still have TI 8 to see if it can open or validate the image file?

    Do you have TI 9 to try with it?

    Some people have had good success with TI 2009 restoring older image files even though Acronis only officially supports one version back.
     
  3. intrax

    intrax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks your quick reply !

    I will try TI 2009 and otherwise install older v8 in VMWARE, don't want to mess up current install !

    Wish I didn't need all that hassle as backup software should always support older fileformats.... big minus :thumbd:

    edit:
    Looks like the tib is really corrupt. Tried all TI versions v8, v9, v10 from bootcd's to restore all same error
    I wrote the tib file to a dvd-rw using udf packet writing (Nero). Was that cause of the corruption ? Any fixes ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2009
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Have you tried copying the archive onto your harddrive and then use TI8?

    Does the archive consist of only 1 DVD?

    Are you able to mount or explore the archive?

    Midway through TI9 the tib file format was changed and again in TI11.
     
  5. intrax

    intrax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    @bodgy
    thanks your reply...

    1. yes, copied the archive to hd
    2. archive is a tib file of 3,185,806 KB (3,1 GB), fits on 1 dvd
    3. no mounting, explore... TI always errors: 'not a valid tib archive'

    I suspect the writing to dvd caused the archive to become corrupt.. have also read other posts referring this matter..

    Any ideas to fix ?:argh:
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you only tried using TI in Windows to access the image? If so, boot to the TI CD (including different versions) and see if it can be accessed from the hard drive or from the DVD. It's not that uncommon for DVDs to have problems when it comes to TI.

    Do you still have the drive that created the DVD?

    Was the DVD burned directly from TI in Windows or when booted to the TI CD's Full Mode version?
     
  7. intrax

    intrax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    I have tested the tib file on the dvd using CD-Check and CD-Recovery toolbox... both progs say the file is sound and no trouble reading, only TI refuses to do anything with it.

    I copied the file to disk no problems...

    I used all v8, v9, v10 and TI 2009 bootrescue disks to restore and all refuse to accept the file...I'm still using same drive that created the dvd.

    The file was created on disk and later burned to dvd-rw using nero.

    Is there any acronis tool to analyse the tib file ? :'(

    edit: looks like I have been fallen victim to the 'file corruption' problem back in 2004/2005 TI v8 see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=65129&page=1
    the image was created on a usb 2.0 drive, so that's probably when the corruption ocurred and later transferred to dvd-rw... this experience makes me rethink using Acronis again..
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    As far as I know, if the file is actually corrupted there are no tools available to try and extract any data from it.

    If you're sure it's a TI 8 image and you have access to the various TI 8 builds, have you tried them all? I never used that version so I don't know how much changed between builds. If using TI 9, try the early builds first because it changed in one of the middle builds (just before build 3,677, I think).

    Is the image file currently on a FAT32 or NTFS partition? One or the other may work better for TI 8.

    Are you familiar with using file hex editors? It wouldn't hurt to create a test image with TI 8 (or use another image from the same time period) and compare the starting bytes of the file with the image you have. This could help determine if the file really is a TI 8 image and also if something's wrong with the starting data.

    In the later versions of TI (it may also apply to TI 8 and before), if any of the start of the file or the end of the file is corrupted, TI will have problems with the file. When you get a super quick INVALID FILE error when you just select the file, it usually means that TI doesn't detect it as a valid image file. However, the check being done is not that accurate and can be incorrect (reporting the image as invalid when it's not).
     
  9. intrax

    intrax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Yep, it's most likely what's happening here. The rejection is immediately on the selection of the file. Would be nice to have some sort of tool from Acronis to correct this... thanks.. question is...what check is done to reject the file ??
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2009
  10. intrax

    intrax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    bump after edit last post...:cool:
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I agree it would be nice if Acronis provided a tool to fix image files that are just not "seen" correctly and are still perfectly valid.

    I'm not sure exactly what checks are made, but they are quick checks. They are so quick that TI must only be just accessing (or trying to access) a very small portion of the file(s).

    I ran into this problem a lot when testing automatic restores from flashdrives on my test computer. In all cases the MD5 value and compares of the images were identical (the files were not corrupted). If I let TI in Windows create the image file directly to the flashdrive or if I created it to the hard drive and then copied it to the flashdrive, TI Full Mode would error when it was selected. If I let TI Full Mode save the image directly to the flashdrive, then it could access it correctly.

    The odd thing was that I could lower the split value down until TI would see the image as valid. If I remember correctly, it ended up around 200MB per split. So, if I saved the TI image in 200MB splits and then copied it to the flashdrive, TI Full Mode would see the image as valid.

    It's things like that that don't really make sense as to what's being checked. I have a feeling it has more to do with how it's being checked or how the drive is being accessed that it does with the actual file.

    For an example of looking at the file header, you can look at this thread (I think it was TI 10 in that thread). I was able to figure out a way to trick TI into working with set of backup files when one complete file was corrupt/missing. This is another example that seems to indicate that TI does not check everything when looking at the files, but only does a quick check of certain information.
     
  12. intrax

    intrax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for your extensive reply and very good work on the sequence bit swap... nice and scary story about the 500 GB raid backup and quite a succes !

    The verdict on my 2004 tib archives is in, because looking at both (I have two) tib files using a hex editor reveals they are both EMPTY... just containing zero's.. so definitely corrupt. It's fair to say that Acronis rejects the tib files if it doesn't find fat data at the beginning of the archive or as in this case 'continuous zeroes'...:argh:

    Luckily my backup is not that crucial as in your example. It was the restore partition of my Compaq Presario of which I still have some cd's, but just wanted to restore from TI as I discovered I could not boot from the restore partition anymore.

    thanks for the help...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.