TI Home 2009 Build 9709 experience?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hauge48, Jan 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hauge48

    hauge48 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Hello all,

    after a rather distressing period of trying to get the best of version 2009 I reverted to version 11.

    Now after the introduction of Build 9709 perhaps I should make a new shot at 2009 - or?

    Also anyone tried out TI, any version on Windows 7, 64 bit?
     
  2. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NY State, US
    There is a thread titled "Windows 7" in this forum that W7 folks are using. No luck so far with any TIH on W7x64.
     
  3. lesterf1020

    lesterf1020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    I wouldn't say that. While I can't get ATI 2009 to work on W7x64 I have had no trouble installing or running ATI 11 build 8101. BChat claims that ATI 10 works as well.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all ,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Officially none of the Acronis software don’t support Windows 7, so we can’t analyze or perform any diagnostic regarding this question/issue.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  5. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NY State, US
    Dmitry, I know this and do not really expect you to support a 3 week old beta version of a new OS (hopefully the rest here know this as well). It is just surprising that TIH09 does not run on x64. About all other applications that work fine on Vista x64 that I have tried on Win7 x64 have also worked fine. I suspect it is some odd small problem preventing it from installing. If you find out what is the problem you may feel free to fix it in the next build of TIH09 :D Thank you.
     
  6. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    I tried to install 9709 into Win 7 64 - it won't install, at least not on my machine.

    We all realize that Acronis doesn't support Win 7 64 bit, not a "Plus" for them IMO. I'd be a lot happier with them working on this rather than the nonsensical company line that is posted here repeatedly. Win 7 final edition is going to be on machines in the very near future and Acronis might best serve its own interests by making sure ATI 2009 is compatible.

    I have used ATI since version 8 and recommended it to anybody who asked, I am not Anti-Acronis. I realize that no program is going to be all things to all people all of the time. I also realize that people expect to be treated with some sort of courtesy when they purchase a product, too many cases of that not happening in this forum.

    As I have posted else where, I now have ATI 10 installed on Vista Ultimate 64 bit, and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit drives. I have done dozens of full backups and full restores without a single issue.

    This is my experience on my machine, yours may vary.

    IMO, Acronis needs to improve the way customers are treated and the product they sell to them.
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Win 7 hasn't even reached the Release Candidate status yet, why would you expect program developers to support it prior to its reaching RTM status?
     
  8. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    Because as far as I can tell, most other companies are doing so. ATI 2009 is the only software/hardware I have in Vista 64 that is not applicable to Win 7 64. I think it is poor business to wait until RTM to start working on software for an OS - apparently many others agree with me.

    Acronis can do as they please. I supported/recommended their products for years with enthusiasm. I express my unhappiness with the present situation with the same enthusiasm.
     
  9. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NY State, US
    C'mon, you know that's very not true. The other apps may work, but if you call with an anomaly with their app in W7 that is not there in Vista, they will tell you the same thing, "We do not yet support Win7." This situation is just annoying because it won't install. As I said above, I suspect they know about it, they are working on Win7 compatibility in general, and I also suspect this install problem is easy to fix. I would not be surprised to see a (9800 or whatever) build soon. It is after all called the 2009 version and this is barely into Feb 09, their will surely be further updates.
     
  10. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    ...and isn't this the goal of the apps - to work?

    I'm not sure, but I think you added to my case.
     
  11. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NY State, US
    You forget that Microsoft does not even support Win7, why should the app vendors. It appears you feel the world owes you and it's never enough. The only thing sure is that your incessant whining isn't going to change anything at Acronis.
     
  12. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    Thank you for clearing this up for me. What was I thinking?
     
  13. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't know... :D

    Be aware that there are a couple of different application types:

    - the one who uses Windows functions only. They can work under Win7.
    and
    - the one who works not only with assembled Win functions but with own coded C-programs using the hardware interfaces and so on.
    And this is varying from OS to OS. And from version to version.

    And now make a guess what category Ti belongs?

    BChat: To believe,... No: To INSIST on Ti2009 must work under Win7 (beta, not RC) is not o.k.


    EDIT:
    I think you don't have the faintest idea what program developing/system programming is, right?
     
  14. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    MrMorse, you are 100% CORRECT, I know nothing about program/systems development. I also don't know how this relates to ATI 2009, Windows 7 64 bit, Acronis Customer Service, or anything else here.

    I expressed a fact or two, an opinion or two, as many others have done in this and other threads. Nothing more, nothing less.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.