TI Home 11.0 Build 8053 Restore Freezes

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tellicokiyuga, Dec 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tellicokiyuga

    tellicokiyuga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Using TI Home 11.0 Build 8053 with Acronis drivers applied

    Restoration of image using the above from boot disk freezes after about 4 or 5 minutes into the image restore. I checked the image using "Archive Verification" and the image is reported as being okay.

    Any suggestions on what I should try would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Are you restoring from a USB device or another internal drive? If internal, have you tried using the Safe Mode version of TI?
     
  3. gxx

    gxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    i have the exact same problem. i've tried using the version before that 10.something or other. tried acpi=off and all combinations of that with nousb and every other solution i've seen on this site. for me i'm restoring from one partition on an nvidia raid 0 stripe using 590mcp to another partition. funny thing is it works for this dvd image i made a while ago and it has worked before on this computer. nothing has changed really and i've tried several images that i have and they all lock up at the same point. when usb is enabled the mouse stops moving and always ram activity stays the same (got ram with activity lights) and hdd stops being read/written to altogether. it isn't literally frozen tho because you can still tab and select cancel, it'll ask you to confirm but then do nothing whatsoever.
    forgot to mention this stuff only seems to happen when in the busybox environment off the bootdisk or when it restarts to do its thing. validation will always pass and files are genuinely fine when exploring, however even a validation freezes up when in the busybox environment at the exact same point the restore does. it's always the same for all the images two. it gets two bars in for completion and total then 30 seconds later just stops dead.
    still trying out things. i'm not willing to let these images go and try some other imaging product just yet. i'll post back here if i find a solution to my problem. i don't know if it'll relate to your problem, tellicokiyuga.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2007
  4. t1t0

    t1t0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I also have the same problem, restoring freezes. Pressing cancel has no effect.

    My hard drive problems actually started with the "Try&Decide" which completely fried my Windows (wouldn't boot at all, "fixing" it the the Windows CD changed nothing). Luckily (...) I had done a complete backup before. But as previously stated, no boot restoration possible.

    I finally decided to reinstall Windows and my applications completely and just restore important files individually. During this restoration, I got four times the following error : "start sector is outside input stream". Once again, I was lucky since I use an online backup service for important files...

    Previous backup validation had not detected any errors in the backup. No bad sectors on my hard drives neither.

    I am still only running a trial. Needless to say, I will not be buying Acronis if it can not be trusted.
     
  5. gxx

    gxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    figured it out, well hopefully. the validating got almost half way done so i'm going to go with it and restore. i'll post back on my success or not.
    i'm not sure whether it's specific to the drivers for the nvidia sata raid controller or not but i turned off the "ready for archiving" and compression attributes on the file itself and it seems to be working. maybe a note for acronis support to pass along. well wish me luck, here goes.
     
  6. gxx

    gxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    alright im back and it worked perfectly. hope this helps someone.
     
  7. tellicokiyuga

    tellicokiyuga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Well I did the quiet acpi=off noapic and that had no effect the system still froze after about 4 or 5 minutes of restoration.

    I removed quiet and the following were the last few lines displayed.
    BusyBox v0.60.5 (2007.10.23 - 7:20+000) Built-in shell (lash0
    Enter help for a list of built-in commands
    /# scsi 0:0:0:0 direct-access seagate FreeAgentDesktop 100D po 0 ansi:4
    sd 0:0:0:0 [sda] 976973168 512-byte hardware sectors (500108 mb)
    sd 0:0:0:0 [sda] write protect is off
    sd 0:0:0:0 [sda] assuming drive cache: write through
    sd 0:0:0:0 [sda] 976973168 512-byte hardware sectors (500108 mb)
    sd 0:0:0:0 [sda] write protect off
    sd 0:0:0:0 [sda] assuming drive cache: write through
    sda: sda(
    sd 0:0:0:0 [sda] Attached scsi disk
    sd 0:0:0:0 attached scsi generic cgo type 0

    Not sure what this is telling me or where I go to from here.

    Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    As noted by gxx, please check if the partition image is stored at is compressed (right click on the partition and choose "Properties"). If it is, please uncompress it (uncheck the "Compress drive to save disk space" box).

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  9. tellicokiyuga

    tellicokiyuga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Marat and gxx. Thank you Thank you Thank you

    The compression attribute on the file was the secret. I removed the attribute and restore ran perfectly. My confidence in Acronis is restored although I'm not sure why the attribute is set to begin with if it causes a problem. Maybe in the next release you should issue a warning message.

    Thanks again
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tellicokiyuga,

    We are glad to hear that your issue has been solved and you can use Acronis True Image successfully.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.