TI doesn't properly restore Linux partitions

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by babakan, Feb 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. babakan

    babakan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Has anyone seen this problem or care to run a test. This applies to Linux partitions only.

    TI does not restore the first 2 sectors of a Linux partition, ext3. Sometime you install the boot loader in this area and if it is not restored it will have to be reinstalled. It is also true that if the restore is not to exactly the same sectors on the disk (and it may not be), any chain boot to the Linux sector will have to be repaired.

    I tested this with a real Linux install and also just a blank Linux partition. I used Acronis Disk Editor to inspect/modify the data in the sectors.

    I have been trying, unsuccessfully, to get Acronis tech Support to understand this problem.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have not run any tests, but I have ran actual restores and this problem does exist. I've posted several times on this forum about this very problem.

    However, since in only takes a minute or so to reinstall grub, I've haven't worried about it. That's a small price to pay to have my linux partition back the way I want it.
     
  3. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    babakan:

    That's interesting information. Now I understand why MudCrab always has to reinstall GRUB whenever he restores his Linux partition and I never do.

    My workaround, implemented unknowingly, was to create a small ext3 boot partition. I made mine 50 MB, and it's the first partition on the disk. I've installed GRUB to this partition along with the Linux kernels and other boot files from my Linux disto and then set this partition as active.

    When restoring Windows or Linux I simply use TI to restore their respective partitions. After restoration, either OS boots immediately. I never have to monkey around to get GRUB working after a restore; it just works. Another bonus to using a boot partition is that if something goes wrong with it you can, as an emergency repair, simply use a utility to set the Windows partition as active and then the PC will boot directly into Windows.

    Of course if you rearrange the order of your partitions when doing a restore then you will have to edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst file to reflect the new order.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Mark,

    I have since configured one of my systems to use a separate boot partition, but I still have two that were installed the other way and haven't bothered to convert them yet.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello babakan,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Could you please let me know your Acronis request number which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? I will find out how the investigation of your issue is going.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.