Ti does not restore my mbr on partition c:

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sirmaniac, Mar 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sirmaniac

    sirmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi all,

    Trueimage restored my windows c: partition without error, but i can't boot Windows after restore ,because TI does not restore the Bootsector.

    How can i make a backup with the Bootsector included and restore the drive with its old Bootsectorso that i can boot from it. I want to use Ti to restore the Systempartion if Windows don't boot anymore or a harddrive failure.
    But without the Bootsector the progamm make no sense.
    I know that i can fix the Bootrecord with the Windows cd, but i have a custom bootsector so that wont work.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    A partition's Boot Sector is automatically included in any partition's backup and restoration.

    Did you try restoring the MBR and Track 0?

    What custom Boot Sector (or MBR) are you using?

    What version of Windows are your using?

    What version and build of TI are you using?

    What error message are you getting when you try to boot Windows?
     
  3. sirmaniac

    sirmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I dont have a Backup of that.
    I used Driveimage bevor and always get my MBR resored, so i dont make a extra MBR backup.

    Linux boot selector

    Vista Home

    V11

    No valid System
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2008
  4. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    “I dont have a Backup of that.
    I used Driveimage bevor and always get my MBR resored, so i dont make a extra MBR backup.”
    As stated, the MBR is included with all disk/partition backups.
    When restoring, you should see a screen like I’ve posted. You need to select the MBR/Track 0 option.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The MBR and Track 0 is automatically included in your TI backup image. When you use the Restore Wizard, you can check it if you want it restored. It is in the same backup image you used to restore the partition.

    Other options you can try:

    Do a Sector-by-Sector restore of the Windows partition. This has better success with GRUB (you don't specify which loader) and may work with yours. In most cases I've tested, you can use this option even if you didn't do a Sector-by-Sector backup.

    Repair your Linux boot loader. Most boot loaders have instructions to "reactivate" them.
     
  6. mprezgot

    mprezgot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Kingston, ON CANADA
    TI has a well known problem with restoring MBR and Track 0. You'll either get "NTLDR is missing" or no GRUB (you can easily reinstall it with GRUB boot floppy).
     
  7. tjcanno

    tjcanno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    This is EXACTLY the problem I am having with ATI version 10! I re-loaded my image with ATI Emergency Boot CD on to a new, blank, hard drive from Dell (after the original drive in my laptop crashed) and I am getting the "NTLDR is missing" message. How do I fix this? I have been stuck with no laptop for over week now and have gotten ZERO support from Acronix on it.

    I don't use a boot loader or anything fancy. I just want my basic Win XP Pro back along with the rest of my image.

    What is a GRUB?

    Can you provide me with a work around to this? I have a WinXP Pro install CD. Can I install that and then restore the image of my hard drive? It is such a pain to go back and install all software again from scratch. That's why I made backup images of the hard drive!

    Help!

    :)

    Jim
     
  8. mprezgot

    mprezgot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Kingston, ON CANADA
    GRUB is a Linux (and not only Linux) boot loader.
    To fix "NTLDR is missing" in Vista you can start computer with installation disk and choose R option for "repair" - it will fix it for you. WinXP installation CD will not, nor would any other tricks posted on Internet. The best solution is what you said: Install anew Windows XP and then use ATI to restore your Image over installed XP. Let us know how it went.
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    tjcanno,
    Check out my guides below and see if they help. Use a "disk" backup and perform a "disk" restore using the Rescue CD; and remove any duplicate drives before first bootup.

    Since you have a Dell, you might want to also read the "upgrading to larger drive" link below and see if you need any special procedures because of it being a Dell.
     
  10. tjcanno

    tjcanno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    Thanks, Grover.

    I basically did what you outline in your document. It did not work. I did a disk image backup of the whole computer in December. Replacement hard drive was loaded from image using rescue CD.

    I do not think I have Media Direct. If I do, I never use it. My understanding from reading is that if I do not take some special precautions, MD would not work in the future (if I had it) after a restore with ATI. That would not bother me.

    I'm very discouraged by this experience.
     
  11. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    tjcanno,

    Leave the image, and just do a repair restore of XP from the XP CD.

    You [gnore the first repair option that comes up on the CD, answer yes you do want to install Windows, so long as it can find a valid \Windows directory, you will be able to then choose the second Repair option. This will delete all your XP system files including service packs. However, it will re-install the system files and merge registry so that your existing programs are still recognised by Windows, it will also rewrite all the boot info (with a Dell you will lose the hidden partition info).

    You will need your XP number during the repair. Reboot and everything should be fine.

    Colin
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mprezgot,

    I'm confused by this statement. When TI restores an image it deletes the previous partition. Why do you want to install WinXP and then delete it?
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.