TI 2009 - Unable to Activate Startup Recovery Manager

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Ewyuu4j0, Apr 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ewyuu4j0

    Ewyuu4j0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Running Windows 7 x64 beta 1, so I was unable to install the complete TI 2009 as described elsewhere. However, I was able to install the Recovery CD creation tool (latest version -- downloaded from Acronis.com yesterday). I created a recovery "CD" on a USB thumb drive. It boots up fine. It successfully creates the Acronis Secure Zone. However, it refuses to create or activate the Startup Recovery Manager. The error is simple: "Failed to create Acronis Secure Zone." It actually does create the secure zone however. It just doesn't activate the Recovery Manager.

    This is on a Vostro 1500 (Dell laptop) with a 250GB hard drive divided into two partitions. I've tried specifying that the Acronis Secure on both partitions with various sizes. I've tried creating the secure zone in one step and then activating the startup recovery manager in another step, as well as doing it in one step (activate startup recovery manager when no secure zone has yet been provisioned).

    Any ideas?

    -Jeremy
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2009
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried booting to the TI CD and trying to activate the ASRM?

    Do the ASRM files exist on the flashdrive (they'll be in their own folder)?
     
  3. Ewyuu4j0

    Ewyuu4j0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    I was doing it off a flash drive because my CD drive wasn't working. Tonight I got a replacement CD drive, however, and using it I had no trouble activating Acronis Startup Recovery Manager.

    Yes, the ASRM folder did exist on the flash drive. I'm guessing that the script that invokes copying those files is broken for USB devices.

    Thanks for responding, MudCrab.

    -Jeremy
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Ewyuu4j0,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Acronis does not recommend creating the Acronis Secure Zone on a detachable drive. If you activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager and then for some reason disconnect the drive Acronis Secure Zone resides on, your computer may boot with a long delay or not boot at all. You will need to either reconnect the drive with the Acronis Secure Zone or fix the master boot record (MBR).

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  5. Ewyuu4j0

    Ewyuu4j0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Dmitry, thank you for response. However, I think you misunderstood what I'm saying. I did not attempt to create the Acronis Secure Zone (ACZ) on a detachable drive. I attempted to create the ACZ on a partition on the computer's fixed disk from a "Recovery CD" which was not on a CD, but on a thumb drive. In other words, I booted into Acronis from the thumb drive.

    To recap, when booting into Acronis from the thumb drive, I was able to create the ACZ on the fixed disk. I was not able to activate the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager (ASRM). It seems to me that this should be possible.

    Here's an additional detail. There are two ways to create the ASRM. The first way is a one step process in which you create the ACZ and ASRM. In this case, at the end of the failed process, the error message was that it could not create the ACZ. However, this is incorrect. It did successfully create the ACZ. The failure was in activating the ASRM. This is what the error message should have reported.

    When you do it in two steps, you create the ACZ first, and it works without error. When you then try to activate the ASRM in the existing ACZ, you get an error message. I believe that in this case, the error message is correct, that the ASRM could not be activated.

    As mentioned previously, all of the above is when you have booted into TI 2009 Home from a thumb drive, and attempt to create your ASRM on your fixed disk. When you boot into TI 2009 Home from a CD, you can create successfully activate the ASRM.

    -Jeremy
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Jeremy,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please check that MBR is not protected from overwriting. Also, don't you use SSD hard drives? What is the build number of the program? You can check it navigating mouse cursor to upper line of the program then press ALT + left mouse button -> Help -> About

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  7. Ewyuu4j0

    Ewyuu4j0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    I don't know how to protect it from overwriting. But I'm pretty certain that it's not. Also, as noted before, I was able to activate the ASRM when booting into Acronis from CD. If it were an issue of the MBR being protected from overwriting, I wouldn't have been able to do that, I assume.
    No.
    9709

    -Jeremy
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.