TI 2009 one more bug.....

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jeanm, Dec 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jeanm

    jeanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    France
    Hello,
    Still trying "TI 2009", after the fact that scheduled tasks by TI--11 are not modifiable by TI-2009, (and other complaints about the *.pst disappearing), i found another problem.
    "*.tib" file containing directories data (not a drive image) cannot be displayed in Windows Explorer.
    TI-2009 try to mount it on a virtual volume, and says that it cannot as it does not contains any partition.
    My TI-11 was displaying all directories and files contained in this type of backup file without any problem......
    Why this TI-2009 is not at the quality level of TI-11 ?
    It seems that it has not be tested in deep before release... or released in a hurry......
    Congratulations for TI-11 but shame on you for TI-2009.....
    Jean
     
  2. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    After previous posts about so-called TI 2009 bugs I installed it on my five year old P4 the other night - my reasoning being that surely if there are bugs then they will show themselves on such old hardware. I have to report the same flawless product as on my new PC - no problems with Office, Outlook, scheduler or anything else. Acronis are certainly on the money this time - this product is the best yet :D
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I can understand your sentiments because you had bad experiences with Version 11 and V2009 works for you.
    The fact that V2009 no longer supports the ability to schedule and retain several full backup images and have them managed automatically is obviously of no concern to you.
    My own view is that the lack of effective, simple and secure full image management is an huge step backwards by Version 2009.
    To have more than one point in time for a restore one is forced to use Incremental or Differential backups to have any form of automatic image management.
    This method of working uses a "consolidation" process to produce an erzatz full image which seems to be a time and space waster which also increases an element of risk which need not be there.

    My current practice of retaining a range of full independent backup images is just not provided by Version 2009. Okay I suppose I could manage backup images on a completely manual basis under Version 2009 but I prefer to have all this done automatically by Version 10.

    Xpilot
     
  4. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    Things have moved on from your position with 2009 latest build. I can now schedule a full image followed by just one incremental and then make subsequent full images with one incremental without overiding the previous image automatically - check out latest features. I know this to be true as I now have three fulls with three single incremental images on my external HD none of which are consolidated. I do have to manually delete the old images at some point when my HD is full but hey I can manage this little task myself.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Yeah, you can kludge around it that way but you still don't get the autodeletion of the old files. Using ATI10 is a much more effective workaround for ATI12/2009's shortfall regarding Fulls. What the Heck were they thinking? Have they never studied backup strategies that professionals set up, even for home users?


     
  6. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Well you have confirmed my doubts about Version 2009.
    To have to faff about creating fulls and incrementals and then, once ones image storage area is full, to revert to having to intervene with manual deletions forever afterwards is not my idea of an improvement over the totally hands off method provided by version 10.

    I suppose that you have not noticed the V2009 still perpetuates multiple validations of your backup images. The only real workaround is to not run validations. I don't, I restore to a swapped drive instead. Try it, this method is fireproof .

    Xpilot
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    First the phrase 'faffing about' is copyrighted to me! :D Please pay royalties in litre cans of diesel. :rolleyes:

    Second, the latest build will now consolidate sets of Full/Inc's. The only 'strange' bug that may still exist is on my laptop, it keeps demanding to be pointed to 'tib4' which is the file it just made, and then it pauses and won't consolidate. However this might be an install issue as on my PC it works fine.

    Colin
     
  8. gww528

    gww528 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    I have this same problem. :(
     
  9. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    Well I can put up with the slight quirkiness of deleting a number of images manually, not perfect I know but hey it's not like I'm being asked to dig ditches, I mean how hard is this task. The fact that 2009 works so brilliantly for me in every other respect far outweighs the backup issue. As for validations, well some may draw breath at this but I never use validations. I did for a while on previous versions but they always seemed to cause problems when validated.
     
  10. clivew

    clivew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    I have the same (new) problem; but I also found that in some cases (i.e. quirky) I could right click the file and select "Open" and get it to open.

    I don't know if I am being unfair; but it seems to me that since version 10 with every new release the added features have come at the expense of the (once rock solid) performance of the core functionality.

    Dare I say it - it reminds me of the problems with each new release of Quicken.

    Clive
     
  11. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It'snot since 10, it happened with new releases before that -- version 9 was especially problematic at first. But Acronis used to release lots of updates for a given version. With ver 11 the number of serious bugs greatly increased and the number of updates dropped to just one, which barely fixed anything.

    It remains to be seen whether ATI12/2009 will get a second update and one that fixes the more serious probs.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.