TI 2009 Home rescue disk unable to load Linux kernel

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LXC, Dec 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LXC

    LXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    I have been running TI 11 with no problems. I upgraded to TI 2009 #9496 and when I run the rescue disk I get the error message "Unable to load Linux kernel please reboot". I tired the program CD with the same results.

    EB
     
  2. LXC

    LXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Anyone elese having this problem?

    EB
     
  3. LXC

    LXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Acronis support o_O??
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You may need to contact Acronis Support directly. Live Chat is probably the quickest method. It's possible you may need an alternate loader or a custom build that correctly supports your computer.

    Does the Safe Media (Safe Mode) version of TI start okay from the TI CD?
     
  5. LXC

    LXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Safe mode works.

    LXC
     
  6. LXC

    LXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Live Chat gave me a link to a rescue disk iso that works fine so far. :)
    I hope the changes to the rescue disk get incorporated in the next release.

    Thanks Mudcrab and Acronis.

    EB
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    They might and might not. What you have is one of list of tailored solutions. Ideally, the next version will support all the hardware ofpast versions and then some,including that hardware that needed any of the custom ISOs. But there is no law about this. With the exception of ATI11, I think the hardware support has generally improved with each new ver.


     
  8. LXC

    LXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Given Acronis "might and might not" include the tailored solutions in the next release of the rescue disk how is the end user keep the core program on the rescue disk up to date? Does the end user request a 'new' tailored rescue disk with each new release in order in order to keep the core program on rescue disk up to date? I have had to add parms to rescue program but never required a 'new' program. It gets a little more complex in as much as I know a system identical to mine with the exception of the RAID which is implimented in Intel on one amd Marvell on the other. The other system fails on boot using the 9496 rescue disk and the new rescue disk that runs successifully on mine. The MB is an Intel quad core with all Intel components and BIOS at the latest level.

    EB

     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.