TI 11.tib files suddenly no longer associated

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Hope, May 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hope

    Hope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Vista Home sp2. Double-click on .tib files and nothing happens. They suddenly don't have the icon they used to have...have a blank default icon instead.
    This happened prior to installation of Vista SP2.
    Tried associating the files with Acronis True Image Monitor and that does nothing.
    I did a reinstallation repair of TrueImage11.8053_s_en.exe and that did not fix the problem.
    I used to be able to double-click on tib files and open them up to see the files within - can't do that anymore.
    I can still mount and unmount within the Acronis software but that is not as convenient.
    What has gone wrong?? Is it some Windows Vista update that did this?
    Help...:'(
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Try this:
    1. R-click on the .tib file and choose Open With
    2. Select Choose Program then Browse
    3. Navigate to the main TI executable file and select it.
     
  3. Hope

    Hope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Yeah, I know, I tried that. All that does is open up Acronis True Image the software...it does not just open the tib file immediately as previously so that I could "explore" the contents.
    Thanks for trying to help. :)
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Some of the regular posters here say that Ver 11 is very buggy ... even worse than the previous ver. 10. Maybe you're seeing one of its bugs.
     
  5. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Vista as the OS looks after file associations once they've been tagged.

    Did this untagging happen after installing SP2?

    Have the icons disappeared also?

    It might also be a registry corruption which if so, the easiest thing to do would be to delete all references to TI in registry and then re-install TI.
     
  6. Hope

    Hope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    @bodgy
    I had this problem BEFORE installing Vista SP@ so I can't blame it. I'll try your great suggestion. I downloaded the latest Acronis 11 update so will install that after cleaning the registry.
    Thanks.

    EDIT: Totally removed Acronis 11; used the Acronis Clean Utility; used a reg cleaner and then installed the latest 11 update...still can't "explore" the tib files. Must be something I installed lately or a Windows update. Giving up on this.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2009
  7. Hope

    Hope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Noticed that Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer in device manager is dated 2005. There's supposed to be a 2007 version of it. Where can I find it?
    Completely uninstalled regcleaned and reinstalled TI 11 with latest version and still cannot "explore" the tib files. It looks like Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer might be what allows opening the tibs in Vista explorero_O
     
  8. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    I hesitate to post here in that I don't have Vista but rather XP, SP3. Additionally I'm using TrueImage Home 2009 so the image I'm posting might not apply. Opening Windows Explorer and right clicking on a TIB file this what I see. The default for Open With is Windows Explorer.
    5-30-2009 14-38-31.jpg
     
  9. Hope

    Hope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Yeah, I know but associating Windows Explorer does nothing. The tib files used to have an odd Acronis icon on them...I see yours does not...and I could double-click on the tib file to see the contents in Windows Explorer.
    Did I just dream that I could do that? :)
     
  10. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    No you didn't dream it. It's working for me but of course I have no way to test it on Vista. Opening this displays the files.
    5-30-2009 17-27-48.jpg
     
  11. Hope

    Hope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks, for confirming there IS such a feature. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.