TI 11 Release Date

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Oldjim, Sep 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oldjim

    Oldjim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    99
  2. random110

    random110 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    That sounds about right. Though Acronis aren't known for releasing products as planned... :blink:
     
  3. Acronis102007

    Acronis102007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I just purchased TI 10 on August 26, 12 days ago.

    When TI 11 comes out, is that a free upgrade or will I have to pay?
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    In the past Acronis' policy has been if purchased within 30 days of the new version being released you will get the upgrade free, if I recall correctly.


    Colin
     
  5. Acronis102007

    Acronis102007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Sigh... I wish I'd had known that TI 11 was not far off. I would have waited. I bought a double license for TI 10. I would have continued using PQ Drive Image untill then.
     
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    They have released a new version around this time of year for the last 5 or 6 years. The rule of thumb is not to buy it for the first 3-6 months, until the main bugs are ironed out. The next three months is the sweet spot. After that it is usually worth hanging on for the next version.

    F.
     
  7. Acronis102007

    Acronis102007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Newbies to Acronis would never know that. Thanks for the information though. :thumb: Hope the information helps others in their buying decisions.
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If the version you have works for you, then you may not want to get v.11. Some of us here, including myself, are still using ver 9.
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    IMO, backup/imaging software is an application where it is a lot better to stay with what works than chasing the latest version unless you really need some feature. I also am with TI9 (and XP for that matter). In terms of the features I use, I could probably be happy using several versions earlier than 9 if the HW support was present.

    I hope Acronis releases a build to TI10 that corrects the need to run a repair after the first restore of a Vista partition.
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I hope so too, but I wouldn't expect it until after TI 11 is out for a while. Acronis will probably delay hoping users will buy TI 11 for the fix. It stinks too, since Acronis Support has already acknowledged that this "bug" has been fixed and will be included in the next build, but the next build release date is unknown.
     
  11. photogman

    photogman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    MudCrab, I'm a newbie here just trying to protect my system with the best software and I ran across your guides. Wanted to thank you for all your hard work in compiling them and I can certainly appreciate the time you have invested in them:)

    I just purchased from Amazon True Image 10 Home and I have my 160 gig C: drive, 2 - 250 gig D: drives configured into a RAID1 array, an 500 gig G: drive, three more external hard drives to back up C, D, & G and then I just purchased a Hewlett-Packard Media Vault 500 gig network drive using ethernet cable as a redundant backup. The external drives are pretty dependable and am trying to learn all I can about the network drive. That one doesn't seem suited for widows or orphans.

    I use C: for my system and applications and D: for personal data and G: for my home-based photography business.

    Is the universal restore that much more valuable that would justify going the TI 9.1 Workstation version over the TI 10 Home? Thanks again!
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Unless you are restoring to different hardware (a new computer for example), you don't need Univeral Restore. Also, if you want to use the Backup Locations feature of TI 10 then you need TI 10 as Workstation doesn't have Backup Locations.

    I haven't messed around with Workstation much, but as I understand it, the Universal Restore isn't dependent on a Workstation image. You can use TI 10 and then upgrade to Workstation and Universal Restore later if needed and restore your TI 10 image.
     
  13. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Before you invest in UR, try this to restore to a different computer if you presently have another computer and a spare hard drive to run this test on. I'll call the computers #1 - the original, and #2 - the one that you're going to restore to.

    Before you make the backup image of #1, change its display to a generic vga type. Now make the Backup presumably on to an external drive. Next connect the external to #2 and run the Recovery operation to it by using the Rescue CD. If computer #2 boots successfully you will then have to install the correct video driver and any other device drivers.
     
  14. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The wait-2-or-3-months advice is a pretty good rule of thumb for any software these days. No matter how extensive the beta testing, the full release always reveals things the beta testing didn't catch. For really complex software, like, say, VISTA, it wouldn't be bad advice to wait for the first service pack to be released.

     
  15. controler

    controler Guest

    I can't see how it could be released the 21st, unless they have a newer build that they have not provided the beta testers.
    Personaly I am not happy with the way ATI's beta system is set up. Support is a week per answer and I don't think they understand English very well.
    I don't think it works to have beta support via e-mail only with this beta.
    If I can't discuss the ATI 11 beta here at the forums, I don't think I will continue testing it.

    controler
     
  16. Oldjim

    Oldjim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    99
    I don't know how good this news is as I have only seen it on German Sites - see this from ZDNet.de
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.