TI 11 on Pentium M

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Al Fischer, Apr 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Al Fischer

    Al Fischer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    I unable unable to boot a rescue disk on an ASUS M3n LAPTOP. ( starts, offers Windows or TI and then hangs and reboots on TI)

    I am aware of Linux and the need for PAE (physical address extension) to be on the CPU depending on the Linux kernel used. The CPU on this laptop is an Intel Pentium M which does not have PAE. I suspect this is the reason for TI 11 not running.

    I have seen another post which sounded similar to the problem I am having and a special ISO file was made available. How may I receive a copy to try?

    Also, will the same problem exist on TI 2009?

    In the past I did successfully use Clone-Ez which appears to be a subset of Acronis.
     
  2. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    The cpu is not your problem. My Gericom Ego has a Pentium M735 and the TI 11 rescue disk boots without problems. I would try creating the rescue CD again.
     
  3. Al Fischer

    Al Fischer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    I have allready tried a new restore CD. Same thing. The CD works perfectly on my Lenovo T61. Also latest version of TI 11 is being used.

    It is possible that the CPU you have has PAE and I know that mine does not. Will not support any modern Linus kernel.
     
  4. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    You could well be right then, as this laptop has had recent installations of OpenSUSE and Mandriva without problems.
     
  5. Al Fischer

    Al Fischer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    Mine will not boot UBUNTU and fails with the requirement of PAE. Ubuntu runs fine on T61 and 2 fairly old desktops (AMD).

    Spent several hours understanding PAE as I had never heard of it. So much for converting an old unused machine to a server! This ASUS laptop has been fine except for this issue.

    CloneEz must be an old kernel because I used it for about 3 years without problems. When I return home I will try it as I only have TI 11 with me.

    Incidentally, Downloaded TI 2009 and it booted. Did not try actually backing up. Looks like it will be OK. Old kerner? (or at least compiled without PAE)

    However, I feel a current user should get the upgrade price and the website wants a coupon number. Poor customer sat results. (or an ex-customer!)
     
  6. Al Fischer

    Al Fischer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    Re: TI 11 on Pentium M Again

    How can I receive access to the 'special' iso file that will allow the use of TI o a Pentium M? Or is there another reason why this software will not even load?
     
  7. Al Fischer

    Al Fischer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How can I receive access to the 'special' iso file that will allow the use of TI o a Pentium M? Or is there another reason why this software will not even load?

    Is there a formal request channel or is this available from this forum?
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You'll need to contact Acronis Support for a custom ISO.

    If you want to upgrade from TI 11 to TI 2009, you don't need a coupon. You just need to purchase the upgrade version. When you install it, you need to enter the serial numbers for both TI 11 and TI 2009 (assuming you install on a clean system).
     
  9. Al Fischer

    Al Fischer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    OK. Thanks. I will contact them. Not really urgent.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Al Fischer,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    First of all make sure you are using the latest build of Acronis True Image 11 Home. You can download it from your account on our web site. Then recreate Acronis bootable disc and check its functionality.

    In order to receive ISO image of Acronis bootable disc with updated kernel please send us the serial number for Acronis True image 11 Home via PM.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.