TI 11 Home - new user requires advice/assistance please!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by CiaraJansonFan, Mar 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CiaraJansonFan

CiaraJansonFan Registered Member

Hi all,

I'm certainly not new to computers (or a dummy) but I am new to TI 11. I downloaded the trial to determine its suitability as a replacement for Norton Save and Restore (NSR), which I'm currently using to make backups (previously I used Ghost, and before that, Powerquest Drive Image). I get the feeling that TI 11 is a more 'respected' backup solution and I'd like to buy the product if it can replicate (exactly or very nearly) how I currently use NSR.

So if anyone can assist me by answering the following I'd be very grateful. I have read the help screens and parts of the manual but I'm still struggling to work this out for myself o_O

My primary hard drive is split into partitions C: - H: and with NSR I have 2 backup sets scheduled to run:

1. Backup of C:\, D:\, E:\, G:\, H:\ - backs up all partitions (except F: which is just used for ripping DVDs etc.) at 11:00 every Sunday. Full backup, only keep latest one.
    2. Backup of C:\, D:\, H:\ - doesn't backup E: and G: as they contain the most data and I want a quick backup - this runs at 20:00 every Wednesday. Again this is a full backup and only the latest is kept.

Therefore I have TWO backups for C:, D: and H: at any one time and just 1 of E: and G: from the previous Sunday.

I've set up the same schedule in TI 11 and chose the recommended option of differential backups, with a full backup after 1 differential backup - I thought this would mean that every other week I get a full backup and the weeks in between I get a differential backup - is that correct?