TI 11 Backup Hangs

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by davshu, Apr 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    I am trying to do a full backup of the Users directory and it hangs at 3%, consistantly. I've tried about 5 times.

    The Operation Progess window shows a piece of the path of the file it is on, but it is so long that it starts and ends with ... so I can't figure out exactly which file it is.

    Any ideas on how to get past this?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello davshu,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8053) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please download the latest version of Acronis drivers and install it with disabled logging.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    - Reinstall Acronis drivers with enabled logging;
    - Reproduce the issue and collect the log file without closing any application windows (including the error message windows if there are any). The log file will be created at C:\ . The name of the log file will be snapapi [date-time].log

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also collect the application log of the operation:
    - run the program;
    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;
    - select the corresponding log;
    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon).

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  3. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Thank you Marat.

    I am running:
    • Acronis True Image 11 Home (Build 8053)
    • Windows Vista Home Premium
    I downloaded and installed the drivers, but that did not fix it.

    I did a repair on TI 8053, and then installed the drivers you had me download with logging enabled.

    I set my task to run once. It ran and hung at 3% again. There is no log file in c:\

    Also, since it just hangs and I have to cancel it, the Event Log in Acronis only shows that it started. There are no errors.

    What can I try now? o_O

    Dave
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello davshu,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please set archive compression to "None", and see if the problem persists?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. mranybody

    mranybody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    87
    davshu,

    I suggest you read this https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=193687

    I'm sure Marat is aware that both of his suggested fixes are not definite ones as the members in this post make clear. In fact, as far as I can tell there is NO fix at this time. Note that the post I link you to was posted of December 6th .... so some time ago I'm afraid.

    It's very frustrating to be honest. As it is my TI 11 is useless as backup.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    On some hard ware set ups, ATI 11 hangs when doing file by file backups. You could try doing a full disk/partition backup. That is much more likely to work. That doesn'tmake up for the failed feature, but it would provide you backup solution.
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Also try running the operation from the TI Rescue CD. Try both the files backup and then the full disk backup. Should you need to replace your system disk, it is the full "disk" backup that is the foundation of any restore.
     
  8. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Marat,

    Here are the results of changing the archive compression:
    • None - It works.
    • Normal - It works.
    • High - It works.
    • Maximum - It hangs.
    I'm hoping that Acronis is working on this issue.

    It seems that enough time has gone by that a new build could be released with fixes to some of the problems (even if you can't get them all).

    Thank you for your help on this.
     
  9. Ford AntiTrust

    Ford AntiTrust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I Tried to Backing up my hard drive with specified folders, but I founded this problem.

    Please fix this problem.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello davshu and Ford AntiTrust,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Most likely, the fix will be included into next build of Acronis True Image. We apologize, but the exact time frame isn't defined yet.

    Currently, a workaround is to set a lower level of archive compression (or "no compression").

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.