TI 11 and network

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Howard Kaikow, May 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    On a Vista system, I had been using dial-up with TI 11.8053 until 11 May 2009.

    On 11 May, I switched to cable internet.

    A bit earlier this evening, I replaced TI11.8053 with TI1.8101.

    As we speak TI is in the verify phase of an image backup.

    For quite some, actually until less than a minute ago, I could not access the files on the network drives.

    Why would TI lock things up during a Verify?
    I could, if in one of my rare good moods, accept such a lock out during the backup phase.

    Any ideas?

    P,S. I do not believe that I ever tried to access network files when TI11.8053 was installed, so I do not know whether 8053 had the same issue.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Could it be that the CPU and buss were just too busy to accommodate your request?

    When I do backups and validates I hardly ever try to do anything else but I have noticed the machine is pretty sluggish when I do.

    Have you tried using whatever options TI11 has for lowering priority and reducing disk access speed?
     
  3. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Nothing else unusual was going on.

    e too.

    Noy yet, I usually accept such defaults.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Howard Kaikow and seekforever,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Howard Kaikow, could you please increase the IRPStackSize value in the registry:

    1. Click Start, and then click Run.

    2. Type regedit, and then click OK.

    3. Navigate to the following key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Parameters

    4. In the right pane, double-click the IRPStackSize value.

    NOTE: If the IRPStackSize value does not already exist, use the following procedure to create it:

    1) In the Parameters folder of the registry, right-click the right pane.
    2) Point to New, and then click DWord Value.
    3) Type IRPStackSize.

    5. Change the Base to decimal.

    6. In the Value Data box, type a value that is larger than the value that is listed.

    If you created the IRPStackSize value using the procedure described in step 4, the default value is 15. It is recommended that you increase the value by 3. Therefore, if the previous value was 11, type 14, and then click OK.

    7. Close the Registry Editor.

    8. Restart the computer.

    Please see the article in Microsoft KB for more information.

    Let us know the results.

    Thank you.


    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  5. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    The referenced MSFT KB article does not list Vista in the "Applies to" list.

    The IRPStackSize key is not included in the Vista registry, so, I guess, that Vista is using the default value, or that key does not apply to Vista.
     
  6. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    The referenced MSFT KB article does not list Vista in the "Applies to" list.

    The IRPStackSize key is not included in the Vista registry, so, I guess, that Vista is using the default value, or that key does not apply to Vista.

    Also, I do not know whether event id 2011 is occurring.
    Is there any easy way to search the event logs in Vista?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.