TI 10 standalone - ICH8 - no PATA optical media detected

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by St?phane P?neau, Oct 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. St?phane P?neau

    St?phane P?neau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,

    I use ATI Home v10 build 4871 on a usb flash disk.
    The motherboard is an Intel DP965LT
    Hd : connected with Sata
    Optical media (dvd reader and dvd burner) connected with pata

    When I use the linux base ATI, it doesn't see the dvd reader.

    I tried normal mode, safe mode, with and without "acpi=off apic"

    When I launch TI in normal mode, I can see "ata4 : disabling port"

    What's the solution ?

    ps : please don't tell me to build a bartpe Cd. I have already one, but I can't say that to my customers.

    Thanks

    Stéphane
     
  2. St?phane P?neau

    St?phane P?neau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Ok, I now Know that I can't see the pata devices because there isn't Marvell 88SE6101 support. I don't know if the problem is identical with the mainboards which use JMicron JMB363 pata controller.

    More info here
     
  3. St?phane P?neau

    St?phane P?neau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Ok,

    I now have 3 computers I must send to their owner, with a Marvell PATA controler.
    So, it's 3 Acronis True image, Today, a completely unuseful software.

    Now I must make a choice :
    - Waiting a few days because Acronis support tell me a new release with a better hardware support will be available very shortly
    - Forgetting acronis TI and find a new imaging/backup software.

    Background :
    P965 motherboards are available since August
    TI 10 is available since October
    No answer to my ticket support since last monday

    Acronis, we've got a serious problem !!! :gack:
     
  4. St?phane P?neau

    St?phane P?neau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Absolutly no answer to my ticket support since 2 weeks. :gack:

    Good job Acronis :thumbd:
     
  5. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Well, you're number 666 in line. o_O :gack: Gonna take a while.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Stéphane Péneau,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please have a look at this previous post of mine regarding your question about support of Intel® 965 Express Chipset when using the standalone version of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home.

    Could you please also let me know your Acronis request # (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out the reason for the delay. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  7. St?phane P?neau

    St?phane P?neau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,

    Sorry for the delayed response :D

    My acronis request ID was : 792330
    I finaly received an answer 2 weeks later, and now have a "custom" iso. It's not perfect as I still need to use a Bartpe to create the image backup, but now my customers can restore it with ATI standalone.

    btw : There are a lot of missing shortcuts in the standalone french TI version. I already told this 2 times to the acronis support, but no answer about this.

    Best
     
  8. philmoune

    philmoune Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I has a similar problem with an ASUS motherboard, I solved it by setting the "IDE configuration" option to PATA intead of SATA. I don't remember where it was but it did the job...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.