TI 10 - Rescue CD still doesn't support wireless mouses

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by 660207, Oct 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 660207

    660207 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    Tested ATI 10 Rescue CD.
    Optical mouses are still not supported.
    ~Non-support related comment removed. - Ron~
    So why isn't Acronis able to make this possible? :thumbd:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 7, 2006
  2. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have a wireless mouse so I want to be sure I understand your concern. Can't I just plug in a corded mouse when I am running off the rescue cd?
     
  3. 660207

    660207 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    Sure, you can do that. But it seems to me nonprofessional that I have to change my mouse to use a modern software product. As I wrote ... I don't know any other imagesoftware that have these problems.
     
  4. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    660207 -

    Good point!

    Actually though, I have a microsoftintelliMouse Explorer 2.0 and it is operational when I boot from the rescue CD. So I guess the problem is not universal. (This is a pretty old mouse - purchased 2+ years ago.)
     
  5. 660207

    660207 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    I'm working with a Logitech Cordless MouseMan Optical. After booting from the CD, at first, everything is normal. I can choose the mode but after that, when TI is loading the "Linux-Mode", there are only two directions: up and down - no left or right.
     
  6. Mascot

    Mascot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    For what it's worth, I've used the TI rescue CD with two different (Microsoft) cordless mice and it worked fine with both.
     
  7. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    I used the Acronis Resuce CD with Microsoft wireless Intellimouse Explorer (very old mouse) to create and restore images many times with no problems.
     
  8. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Logitech MX1000 wireless mouse: no problem here :)

    If it is of any help, I connected my mouse by USB.
     
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    The confusing thing about the wireless mouse is; 1. Some Logitech mice work and others don't - part of the problem may be install specific.

    2. Confusingly they did work at one time with the TI CD - for me it was when Acronis solved a different problem for other people that the mouse problem sprung up.

    Early versions of DD10 (before the ability to make one master CD for all Acronis programs) would work with my Logitech DiNova mouse, as did TI, then when the master CD facility came out TI stopped mouse working as described, DD still worked - with the next release of DD both had the same problem.

    The USBMOUSE=OFF does solve the problem as does booting into CD safe mode - Acronis do have an image with the USBMOUSE=OFF embedded into it.

    The only problem is, that with each new upgrade/version, Acronis have to be asked to provide a new image.

    What might be of help to Acronis, so thay they can find out what broke when they changed the rescue CD, is to perhaps find out which type of Wireless our mouse are using - Logitech produce - Bluetooth method and standard wireless. Whilst they are both wireless, the packet of information transmitted will be different, so may be the different mouse drivers might explain some Logitech wireless mice working and others not.

    My DiNova is standard wireless.

    Colin
     
  10. wardell1

    wardell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Renton,WA
    Hello All- I encountered the same problem with my Logitech's MX3000/MX600 cordless keyboard/mouse. Your conclusion that the Rescue cd doesnot support wireless mice is correct at this time. However,you can work around this problem by connecting your Receiver to the PS/2 connection. The problem was corrected for PS/2 connections and should be corrected for USB 1.1/2.0 in a later build. This works very well for me. I don't believe you can go into Setup with a USB connection either. If not,the PS/2 connection applies to it also. Good luck.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.