TI 10 issues with Reboot after restore.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by O.Alexander, Feb 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Hi,

    I'm using Vista x32, 3GB RAM, 2.00 gHZ CPU.

    I formatted my PC,
    and installed TI 10,
    also made a fresh backup file of my clean PC.
    Everything seem to work fine,
    until I tried to restore imagev with TI.

    Everytime the restoring process finishes,
    I get a windows error message (during reboot)
    that the window has been shutdown improperly.
    Asking me if I would start in safe mode or normal mode.

    Is this normal?
    Because if choose to run in normal mode,
    everything is normal, clean afterwards.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    When you restore from within windows, True Image has to shut windows down and restart the process using Linux. Vista sees this as an improper shutdown. It's better to make the bootable TI Rescue CD, boot with it and do the restore from it.
     
  3. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Hi!
    Thanks for your reply!
    So is this normal for Vista users?
    Because I usually restore from within windows.
    Thanks!

    Regards
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    As DwnNdrty stated:

    When restoring your system drive or partition, you will have the best results & fewest problems if you perform your restore when booted from the TI Rescue CD. This removes Windows from interfering. This is applicable for both XP and Vista.

    If restoring a non-system partition (data only), this can be restored from within Windows without the resulting reboot.
     
  5. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Thanks!
    I guess I'll have to do what you guys said...
    How do you make a TI Rescue CD?
    Is it "Create Bootable Rescue Media"?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello O.Alexander,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Acronis Booting Rescue Media is a standalone version of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home, burned onto a CD and based on a Linux operating system.

    You can find out on how to create Acronis Booting Rescue Media on our web site at User Guide for Acronis True Image 10.0 Home available here (chapter 10)

    Thank you.

    --

    Oleg Lee
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  8. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Thanks!
    But I'm not sure if my Laptop has the burning capabilities...
    How can I find out?

    Regards
    Alex

    P.S. How about Secure Zone? Will it solve the problem that I'm encountering?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2009
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Yes, it's normal. You get this message if the backup image you made was created from TI in Windows. It happens because Windows was running at the time the backup was created. You can safely ignore the message and start Windows normally.
     
  10. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Thanks!
    Very simple and precise answer!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.