TI 10 Explorer.exe repeatable error

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LarSal, Oct 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LarSal

    LarSal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Using the free trial version of TI 10.

    After saving a disk image to my external drive, I open the .tib file, which reveals the "slice" icon. I open the "slice" icon to browse the contents of the file, then close everything up and select "Turn off computer" from the Start menu. The shutdown process will "hang" with an "End Program" box indicating that Explorer.exe is trying to close. After clicking "End Task", the computer will shut down. Sometimes Explorer.exe will close by itself if I wait long enough, other times I've had to click the "end task" button to get it to continue the shutdown.

    This is repeatable, and will happen every time I open the "slice" icon to examine the file.

    Thanks for any help resolving this,
    Larry
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LarSal,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that this issue has been forwarded to our Quality Assurance Team. We will let you know the results of their investigation as soon as possible. As this can take a few days, we apologize in advance for any delay with response.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  3. Keith Weisshar

    Keith Weisshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Hazlet, NJ
    I am having the same issue with the registered version of True Image 10 build 4871.
     
  4. Fedorov999

    Fedorov999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Posts:
    182
    Same here, I double-click a .tib file, it opens in WindowsExplorer, if I then close WindowsExplorer then try and double-click a .tib file AGAIN it crashes WindowsExplorer. Certainly this whole new feature appears to cause instabilities in WindowsExplorer - I'll stick with mounting for now, please resolve the WindowsExplorer issues Acronis, thanks. :)
     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    AFAIK The intended way to explore a disk image is to mount the archive from within the TI program and then use Explorer on the virtual drive. As you have found opening a .tib file directly with Explorer can lead to problems.

    Done the regular way there should be no hang ups or problems. It is the way I have always used on TI8,9 and 10.

    Xpilot
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Thought this was a new feature of TI10 - no need to mount image.
     
  7. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    What I call the regular way still works and for me it has never failed.
    I did not know it was a "New" feature. It certainly was possible to do it that way in V 9 and V 10. but as it can have problems I for one will stick with the provided "Mount Images" tool in version 10.


    Xpilot
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LarSal and everyone,

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that the issue LarSal described in the post #1 was fixed. The fix will be included into the next build of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. I'm sorry, but at the moment the exact time-frame for the release of the next build is not set yet.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.