Thunderbird Mail Client: Questions and opinions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by besafe, Nov 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. besafe

besafe Registered Member

After doing some research online yesterday, I am seriosuly considering using the Thunderbird mail client as an alternative to Windows Mail in Vista. I have some questions for experienced users:

1. I have a Contacts Book in Vista Windows Mail. I also have a CD that has an old Outlook Express Address book of about 1500 contacts. Would it be easy to import both address books to Thunderbird?

2. Can you change the outgoing SMTP port in Thunderbird? I have all of my mail handled by Network Solutions. I use their Outgoing SMTP rather than my ISP. When I need to send out mass emails, I also sometimes use a 3rd party relay service. Both of these require me to use a differetn port other than port 25. Is this easy to do with Thunderbird?

3. When I am away from my home office, I like to set up my mail client to leave messages on the server so I can check email remotely. Can you program Thunderbird to do this?

4. I use several distribution lists called "Contact Groups" in Windows Mail. Some for my clients others for my neighborhood watch program. Does Thunderbird support groups? Could I import my current groups from Windows Mail without having to set them up again?

Those are my main questions. I would also appreciate any feedback you may have regarding this mail client. Thanks!

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

3. dread

dread Registered Member

1. Not sure about the vista address book but yes to the OE address book. Look here.

2. Yes it is easy to change the port. Look here under Creating additional outgoing mail servers.

3. Yes you tell it to leave messages on the server. It is under the same place as the about link.

4. Not sure on the groups question. Did a search on the forum and fount this and this.