Thunderbird is unable to connect to email account in SBIE

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by SuperSapien, Jun 12, 2015.

  1. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    Hi I'm been having an issue with Sandboxie blocking access to my email accounts in Thunderbird 31.7.0 I suspect this because Thunderbird has a native sandbox much like Firefox does if I'm not mistaken. My question is how do I configure SBIE so that it will sandbox TB and still allow it to connect to my email accounts?
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    The first thing you should do to get Thunderbird working in Sandboxie is to allow sandboxed Thunderbird access to its files outside the sandbox. You do that below, see if TB works fine afterward.
    Sandbox settings>Applications>Email Reader, Tick Thunderbird

    Bo
     
  3. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    Thanks but I already tried that. For some reason that setting doesn't work.:(
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Then, it could be your antivirus interfering. I remember, a few months ago reading about Avast causing an issue running Thunderbird under SBIE, TB could not run at all under SBIE. The only workaround for that was not to use Avast. If you are using Avast, you can test this by disabling it. Or disable whatever antivirus you are using just to test that that is not were the issue is coming from.

    If you installed TB not where it installs by default, that could also be the reason why configuring TB in Sandbox settings>Email reader does not work for you. If this is your case, go the Folders section in Sandbox settings to configure the alternate folder location that TB is using. Its also possible that the configuration settings in SBIE for TB are obsolete due to an update in TB, if that's the case, I suggest you go to the SBIE forum and post about your issue. There are people there that use TB in SBIE.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  5. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    Yes it was Avast I first tried temporarily disabling its shields it worked but I discovered it was the SSl scanning under mail shields that was the problem so I disabled it now it works just fine. Thanks for the tip.:thumb:
     
Loading...