three images of backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mrgaryd, Jun 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrgaryd

    mrgaryd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    I just installed TI on this laptop and when I do a backup I get three separate images stored on my external drive, why is this??
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Probably because the drive is formatted as FAT 32 which has a 4GB file size limit.
    You can leave things as they are as TI will treat the files as one backup. If you prefer you could convert the drive to NTFS which does not have the same size constraints.

    Xpilot
     
  3. mrgaryd

    mrgaryd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    The drive that I backed up is NTFS the drive that back up to I don't know but will check
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    All the external drives, if bought off retail stores, will come formatted as FAT32.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    You can confirm what Xpilot said by starting TrueImage. Select Validate image and navigate to one part of the image you made. Click on it and read the text in the right hand pane. It will say "This is volume 1 of a multivolume image." The next will be volume 2, etc.

    Note that the names for all parts are the same except for the number appended at the end of the name you typed. I always end my backup names with a # sign. That way the parts (volumes) are:
    MyBackup#1.tib
    MyBackup#2.tib

    Of course, I don't use MyBackup. I use names like Dell notebook 6-10-07#.
     
  6. mrgaryd

    mrgaryd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    I formatted the external drive to NTFS and did another backup and it left only one image this time..thanks guys for the help
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.