Threatfire Questions

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TheKid7, Jun 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

I just installed Threatfire on my Windows 7 RC PC. I have never used Threatfire before.

Without exposing the PC to real Malware, how would I test the basic functionality of Threatfire? I just downloaded a couple of the Eicar Test Files and Avira Antivir Free caught both of them. There was no repsonse from Threatfire on the Eicar Test Files.

From your experience, what are the recommended changes from the Defaults? I prefer as close to "silent" (no popups) as possible without having any software on the PC "crippled" by a False Positive.

Thank you.

2. Toby75

Toby75 Registered Member

The eicar test is based on a signature. Threatfire is a behavior blocker so it doesn't use signatures. And since eicar does nothing in terms of action, threatfire will not prompt.

As far as testing, why not uninstall one of your on-demand security apps, and then reinstall with TF activated. You will get promted and see it in action. It's a very powerful app IMO.

3. raven211

raven211 Registered Member

To add to Toby's great response :))), I would keep it at its default settings - Kees can probably show you his custom-rules if you want, but then it might be things you don't think is important and can obviously not be run silently. I don't expect serious FPs, but as explained in another topic, then it would be new and rare, for example, security software, or some weird file like the Spotify Upgrader - which I didn't know even existed, don't expect any updates there really. :D OSSS is an example for a rare and new security product - I notify them when I see an FP and it's as said not common or serious as it doesn't care how old or new something is - all it cares about is what the things you're running are doing right now. Something suspicious? It will check against its lists (white and black).