Threatfire false positives ?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by damian666, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. damian666

damian666 Registered Member

Attached Files:

2. damian666

Hi
    Bit more detail

Attached Files:

3. Tarq57

Tarq57 Registered Member

Have to be honest, I only did a search for the system 32 interop entry. Too hard to transcribe the other names, and I'm a bit tired. Plus I have no intimate knowledge of the files, nor Vista.
    The Google around indicated that C:\Windows\System32\Interop.Shell32.dll doesn't look malware-ish at all.
    A few options:
    Try contacting Threatfire support.
    For the entires on the file system list, try uploading them (in turn) to http://www.virustotal.com/ for an online scan and multiple second opinions.
    I'd be inclined to suspect FP's. What protection setting do you use?

4. Tarq57

Tarq57 Registered Member

PS there were at least two other users posted issues regarding that file, also. One of them had lost his system restore (vista). Don't know if any of them were using TF. Didn't see any instances of the files being reported "bad", yet they'd been quarantined or removed via other means for some reason.
    That's what led to my above musing.

5. Tarq57

Tarq57 Registered Member

PSS (sorry to womble on) Do you reckon "patch Tuesday" might have something to do with this? FWIW my TF is set to default, 3/5, no warnings triggered, 6 updates downloaded. XP.
    All yours appear to be valid MS system or update files.

6. damian666

Hi
    Ive left message with threatfire support,threatfire is set to 5 could this be to high as default was 3.I also have found after the quarantine of the found items,windows media player seem to reconfirm its self as though it was the first time id used it.Computer is a few months old now,i use pc tools threatfire and firewall with avast
    Thanks again for your time

7. Tarq57

Tarq57 Registered Member