Threatfire can i load it manually

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by mantra, Mar 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Hi
    i have installed threatfire
    and it's very cool
    but i have a question
    it loads a service and the system tray control

    i tried to make the service manual and not auto
    but i can't change the threat service load mode

    can i run threatfire only on demand?
    thanks
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    I do not think that is possible. It would also defeat the purpose of TF IMO. Have it installed on the wifes PC which she is using right now so I can`t check. However I believe only the paid version has an on demand scanner. Someone please correct me if I am wrong. :doubt:
     
  3. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    I think ThreatFire has to be allowed to start auto,
    and far as scanning that option is available in the
    free version, but it does say on demand scan for
    known threats is available only in the Pro version.

    Wake
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I agree with ThunderZ, running ThreatFire just "ondemand" wouldnt do much good.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I think not. Also it,s not a software to be run on demand. Why would u like to do that?
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    i would like to turn on when i want
    or load in memory when i whant that's all

    threatfire seems a great software , i don't know others alternative

    but often drivers , service could give issue
    so it could be great the ability to be able to seup load when system starts
    load manually
     
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    TF is not really intended to be used in this fashion. It is meant to prevent infection with real time protection more then detect it after you are already infected. You are defeating the real purpose of it using it how you describe. But do as you will with your PC.


    Other alternatives, scan on demand, are offered by AVG, A-Squared and Super Anti-spyware among others.
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    for example System Safety Monitor is a great program , and start when you want with system boot or on demand
     
  9. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Again. Really defeating the purpose of SSM.
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    sorry i did not understand the meaning
     
  11. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    HIPS programs are meant to protect "in real time" = as you are doing things on your PC. Examples; surfing the net, installing new programs. Turning off these types of programs stops them from watching for and protecting your system from potentially harmful changes. Once you turn them back on I do not believe they are able to detect the changes that accured while they were off. It just is not how they are intended to work. An on demand scan may detect them however correcting\removing them may not always be a simple task. I believe most users of this Forum, myself included, believe in prevention as opposed to curing. :D
     
  12. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    In that case, don,t bother to use it.
     
  13. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    In this case also, its driver will load, watever u do.
     
  14. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Absolutely. :thumb:
    Prevention is always better then cure. :D
     
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    i agree
    the point is only about the not possibility to setup manually

    antivirs + firewall+ anti malware + privacy software + programs in backround + threatfire + various divers could give many many isses

    and have a controll about enable or disable a service is a good deal,that's all
     
  16. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408

    I understand your point.
    But Threatfire is a behavior blocker that needs to on all the time to be effective.
    Otherwise it really would be no benifit to have.
    About having issues with many programs installed, it's trial and error.
    One must find that balance of security and userabilty.
     
  17. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    you know what i 'm thinking
    we can open a topic with some good balance of security software
    at last the worse experiece of many software installed

    so we can stay away by such combinations:thumb:
     
  18. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    Actually there is an interesting use for a HIPS started on demand. :) You can use it as a "sandbox". Of course, it would be easier to install a real sandbox, but it is a possibility.
     
  19. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    A possibility. But still not it`s intended use so perhaps not quit up to the task.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.