ThreatFire 4.7.0.9

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by lordraiden, Nov 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,074
    http://www.pctools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=48763&page=3

    ThreatFire v. 4.7 is a minor release addressing mostly maintenance issues and bug fixes. It can be downloaded directly from this link:

    http://www.threatfire.com/files/tfinstall.exe

    Automatic updates will not be turned on until next week so current users who wish to install this version will have to first uninstall the previous version and then install this new one.

    Here’s what’s new:
    --PC Security Check will now run for all users after updating, not just new installs
    --Status Report has been redesigned
    --Compatibility issues addressed
    --Other general maintenance issues
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it is getting better;)
     
  4. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Anyone know what changes are for v4.7.0.11 over 4.7.0.9 o_O
     
  5. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Thanks Fuzzfas.
    I saw that over there, was just wondering what the minor fixes were.
    No matter TF is running smoother then ever before but that may change with time as it has in the past.
     
  7. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Sorry, no idea about details.

    I am going to install it again. Yes, unfortunately, from time to time a new release brakes the calm with new conflicts. If i find a version that works smoothly i will keep it for a long time.
     
  8. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    the previous version locked up my pc when used along with Eset SS 3.0.695:doubt:
     
  9. skylite

    skylite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    same thing but on 64 bit,my test setup was :
    antivir pro 64 bit
    prevx 64 bit
    cfosspeed 5 64 bit
    xp pro sp2 64 bit

    :/,it seem from what i've read on youtube review,many others have this following issues of slow down and locked up even tough in 32 bit
     
  10. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Well, conflict for me with Vipre in Win7x64.

    Vipre tray icon won't load after the installation of TF... bye bye TF once again... Shame.
     
  11. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Fuzzfas,

    Do you know if the SBAMTray.exe process was running? If so, the tray icon may actually be loaded but a Windows bug could be preventing it from loading. If this is the case you can find information on this bug and possible fixes here:

    http://winhlp.com/node/16
     
  12. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    To tell the truth i didn't check the task manager, but i have the Vipre icon set to "show icon and notifications" and most importantly, as soon as i ctrl+click Threatfire icon and "exited" , the Vipre icon appeared immediately.

    There's another use here with another problem with TF and Vipre Enterprise:

    http://www.pctools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=62745
     
  13. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I reinstalled, this time i allowed TF to call home. The icon appears, but after about 50 seconds after TF's (which is the last to load) icon appears. And the PC feels sluggish for some more time.
     
  14. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    This looks like a conflict you would normally see when running more than one active protection on a system. This is the reason it's not usually suggested. Although I know they state Threatfire "is fully compatible with your antivirus or other security programs" this is a tough statement to live up to. An update to either product (even just a definitions update) can create new compatibility problems. If you did want to use both products you may want to try disabling the "Check files when they are opened or copied" option in VIPRE's Active Protection settings. This would offer less protection from VIPRE but would likely improve performance and usually solves compatibility problems.
     
  15. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Thanks, but it's not the first time i have trouble with TF. Instead of changing Vipre settings, i 'd rather wait for a new version of TF.

    Honestly, all i would wish for in Win7x64 is a simple anti-executable... But nobody seems to have a simple HIPS for x64 and Vipre that does give the opportunity in advanced options, needs to whitelist every single exe on the PC manually, which makes it futile.
     
  16. progress

    progress Guest

    Is TF still running smoothly? :)
     
  17. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    No,not at all.
    Didn't take long for the CPU to spike as well as the commit charge to double and then came the freezing of my system.
    Again TF proved unusable here.
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    same here and only running it with defensewall with no skin and my system slowed down alot
     
  19. progress

    progress Guest

    Thank you, you can vote here :doubt:
     
  20. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Already voted there, and after trying the latest version, my opinion has not changed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.