This is not the last volume of the backup archive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TerryFox, Feb 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryFox

    TerryFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    217
    Hi ... I'm just trying to figure out what the title means ? ... What I am trying to do is restore an old backup image from a disk onto a hard drive . I'm using the latest version of TI 2009 build 9707 with XP pro sp3 . I'm trying this within Windows xp , My optical drive has the old backup image and I trying to restore this image unto a separate blank / formated hard drive, but I get error from title.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. storage_man

    storage_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    It looks like you have a multi-volume set that makes up your image backup. TI needs to look at the end of the backup image to begin restoring.
     
  3. TerryFox

    TerryFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    217
    If you mean there more than one disk ? Then the answer is no . This is a full backup archive image onto one double layer 8.5gb dvd disk
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Do you have room to copy the image from the DVD onto a hard drive?
     
  5. TerryFox

    TerryFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    217
    I do have the room but it stop half way with an error saying it can't be done .

    It's okay , I found another old backup image on disk and this one did the trick .

    Thanks
     
  6. saddy

    saddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    i have the same issue when i try to restore a backup file created using TI HOME 2009. unfortunately, i have only one copy of the backup file, and all my files are stuck in there.

    my own thread is here.
     
  7. TerryFox

    TerryFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    217
    Thanks for linking your with mine ... I'm sorry to hear about your situation ... To be honest I have like about 3 full backup image on 2 separate hard drive for each OS and I also keep a few on disc . I do so just to be sure I always will have at least one working backup ....
     
  8. Panomar

    Panomar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I have the same problem. I have a full backup of a PC with XP SP3: with Acronis true image installed on Vista 64 I can open it and mount image. With the same Acronis version installed on a XP in a Microsoft Virtual Machine I get the error message "This is not the last volume of the backup archive".

    I don't understand why. Someone can give me help?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Panomar,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    First of all validate backup archive using Acronis program, if there are no any error messages try to copy it to internal or external drive and repeat restore.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.