Thinking About Installing Ubuntu 9.04

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Rain_Train, Apr 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rain_Train

Rain_Train Registered Member

Hi. As the title implies, I'm strongly considering installing Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope) on my laptop, getting rid of Vista. I've read the stickies, but I'm very new to this, so I need all the advice I can get. Furthermore, since there seem to be a mix of Windows and Linux users at Wilders, maybe I can listen to both sides of the table, which is where my story begins.

Vista has been a complete nightmare for me on my laptop, and I'm so tired of it. It's slow to boot up, the monitor randomly turns off and won't turn back on (forcing me to do a hard reset), explorer.exe crashes, it forgets my settings at random times, and the list goes on. The sad thing is, I just did a complete reformat at the beginning of April, and I'm still having issues. I thought about going back to XP, but I remembered that Microsoft will be dropping support soon (or maybe they already have; point is, support & Windows Updates won't be coming out anymore). So, let me start with some basics:

• Computer: HP Pavilion dv5z-1000 Notebook, with Vista 32-bit (link to HP support is here, and link to drivers is here)
    • Installing: Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope
    Now the problem is this: I have absolutely no knowledge of Linux, and how it works. What I'm particularly concerned about are all the commands; I'm just as familiar with MS-DOS as I am with Christopher Columbus, so I'm not sure how that will work out for me. I ran the live CD on my old VAIO laptop, and the graphics driver and wireless networking worked flawlessly. I'm going to try running the CD on my HP notebook (my main machine) soon, to see how it works.