thinapp nod32 antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rice4lunch, Dec 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rice4lunch

    rice4lunch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    anyone successfully thinapped this app? please tell me the procedures if you have. (also avg is fine too).
     
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi, you really can't go wrong in just following the very few instructions.

    screens...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rice4lunch

    rice4lunch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    were you able to run it? my problem was that it didn't run after building it. if it worked for you, then i'll reinstall and capture it again.

    thanks.
    rice
     
  4. Jaki

    Jaki Guest

    It is not possible. I tried it when I had a NOD license, it crashed my computer over and over. The problems are the dedicated drivers that NOD installed on a computer during the installation process. Drivers as far as I can tell you cannot be made virtual.

    However, a scanner for on-demand access could, for example the ClamAV on-demand scanner already is. Please refer to:

    http://portableapps.com/apps/utilities/clamwin_portable

    However, if one tool does not work, try another one, if you have not done so already. Try Altiris Juice available at:

    http://www2.altiris.com/juice/svs/

    OR

    Xenocode at: http://www.xenocode.com/

    Maybe one of these tools could eventually virtualised an anti-virus on-access
    scanner drivers.


    Peace.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2008
  5. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi, using Nod32 on demand worked fine and I could make detections, everything else worked apart from realtime which would not start and remained disabled.
     
  6. rice4lunch

    rice4lunch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    meriadoc: how did you do your capture? did you uninstall nod32 before testing the snapshot. or did you tested it on a fresh machine. what version are you using? can you give me more info? like nero6 for ex, it worked. but then after i uninstall nero, i couldn't add files for burning.


    jaki: thanks for telling me about xenocode. its a feature rich product, although a bit confusing (comming from a thinapp enviroment.) it worked for nod32 on the evaluation version. but the price tag is toooooo steep.

    svs, i have that. but i'm looking for portability.
    clamwin, well it sux. i had this trojan that wasn't detected. then i extracted the exe w/ 7zip and scaned again. then and only then does it report it as a trojan.
     
  7. rice4lunch

    rice4lunch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    ohhh i got it. thanks for your help guys.

    Don't know if it was a bad capture the first time around or what, but during the installation of nod32, i choose custom and disabled everything. and then it worked this time.

    thanks.
    happy new year
     
  8. Jaki

    Jaki Guest

    If you look thou should find. Nahh I'm kidding, just kidding.


    Peace.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.