There are times Firefox 1.5.0.1 freezes and I have to reset my pc..

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sweater, Feb 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Did you experience some occasional freezed or hangs on the latest firefox 1.5.01? :mad: o_O

    What should I do to prevent this from happening again? :'( :p o_O :(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I'm not trying to offend. This is what I did. I got tired of lockups, crashes & memory leaks in FF. But I liked a lot of the extensions.
    I went back to Opera. When I custom made my current OS (XP vlk SP2) with nLite. I haven't installed FF, it's been over 3 months. Don't miss it. Better performance with Opera. Much better. There were extensions & functionality in FF missing in Opera. I went to the Opera forum & have found as much or tweaks for me than FF. Though they're not called extensions. Ime FF is a toy compared to Opera.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    No. How many extensions are you using?
     
  4. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I have had similar issues on my laptop. On my desktop, I have never had that problem.

    I was assuming it had something to do with FireFox as well, but I can't part ways with it.

    I have tried Opera and didn't really care for it. I don't like the interface nor the design of shortcut keys and toolbars. It took way too long for me to get it to look acceptable for me to surf and found quite a few sites that said "Not compatible with this browser" although it worked with FF. Not dissing Opera, I know it is a top-notch browswer, just not my cup of tea :)

    I don't have that many extensions installed (less than 5) and it does freeze occasionally. An annoyance for sure.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    Preliminary Schedule for Firefox 1.0.8 and Firefox 1.5.0.2 Release
    Link
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    you can hack Opera to change that, it involves the ua.ini file.
     
  7. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks, but that is way too much effort when FireFox looks and acts just like I want it to with minimal effort.

    I did spend some time with it to get the right interface and feel so I could use it. I don't like the way it handles tooltips either (no big deal tho). I was just not that impressed with it. No offense to the die-hard Opera fans :)
     
  8. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Nope, no problems at all. Does the same thing happend when you load Firefox in safe mode (you should have a shortcut named "Firefox (Safe mode)" )
    Or you can simply disable all extensions and see what happens.
     
  9. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    Hi Sweater

    Luckily I'm not having any such problems with 1.5.0.1.

    But if I had then after making sure my extensions were all up to date. The usual steps are to disable all the extensions that aren't absolutely critical to your being able to surf safely.

    Live with it a while & see if it makes a difference. If it does then gradually re-enable the remainder of the extensions until you identify if their is a problem one.

    The googlebar extension was being blamed for some problems earlier on. If that's causing you problem try Googlebar Lite Googlebar Lite

    If you can't find anything related to your extensions. The next step is often to try a fresh install.

    After that if still no luck - you may have to accept your profile has become corrupted. Put a back-up copy of your profile in a safe place. Then delete the original and do a totally fresh install. Rebuilding your profile from scratch.

    Good luck
    eyes-open

    Edit: Just to add this assumes there is no other patten - such as opening .pdf links.
     
  10. Upasaka

    Upasaka Guest

    Too right it freezes!!!!!!!!

    This version of Firefox is a HUGE pain.
    It hangs,freezes ,closes down at random and when problems hit the memory is drained in a big way.
    This is happening on 2 different machines,my lads PC has no extensions in use and it drove him nuts,went back to v1.07 and no problem.

    On my own machine it has driven me to distraction,have tried reloading,removed extensions,run in safe mode .........nothing helps.

    I have also found that Firefox is still running despite the browser being closed,this happens very frequently,I have to use task mgr to kill Firefox.

    I have never had problems prior to this update and have heard of plenty of other complaints.
    A friend is having the same issues on his Mac system, he is cursing that he changed to this version!

    Don't know what the cause is but the older versions were faster and more stable.
     
  11. tlu

    tlu Guest

    FF 1.5.0.1 works for me flawlessly. It is possible that your profile is corrupt - try to create a new one as described here and copy your data (bookmarks, password file etc.) from your old profile to the new one as detailed here. Since a corrupted profile is often caused by certain extensions, try to add your favorite extensions one by another and test your new profile thoroughly before adding the next one. Be careful that you install only the newest versions of these extensions - a couple of them were reported to have memory leaks which have been fixed in the meantime at least in Noscript, Flashgot and Adblock Plus (0.6.1.1.).

    On the other hand, if you really have to reset your PC that indicates problems with your memory. You should check that with Memtest86.
     
  12. nightingale

    nightingale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I too have had problems with the new firefox freezing or hanging at times and I have no extensions.:mad: This version sucks big time. Bring on the next one :ninja:
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    How about you give some examples of what sites you are having problems with. Also how many extensions do you have? How many tabs do you have open at the moment of the slow down/freeze?

    I have no problem at all with 1.5.0.1. That is with using mmoy's builds as well as Pacifica branch builds.

    One thing that I thought of you could try however. Go to about:config. Next look for "dom.max_script_run_time" Change the value to 10. Restart firefox after that.

    Good luck.
     
  14. GUI_Tex

    GUI_Tex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    189
    Firefox froze on me 3 times.. especially when I was downloading huge files bigger than 500 megabytes.. I have 69 extensions, When I have alot of tabs open firefox also freezes where it uses excessive amount of memory, I get a crash 1/10 times.

    I should probably clarify that these occasions were all seperate, I download with minimal tabs open.

    what does that do?
     
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    sometimes firefox or an extension will run a script. the value for "dom.max_script_run_time" tells the script how many seconds it has to complete before firefox asks the user to either let the script continue or stop the script.
     
  16. tlu

    tlu Guest

    My goodness - that's what I call a distinct form of extensionmania :D. Are you really sure that you need all of them? I mean, it's quite obvious that with so many extensions the probability of incompatibilities is rather high - don't blame Firefox if it became unstable ...
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    WSFuser is correct. And yes, 69 extensions is a bit well, over the top. I would start from scratch and install extensions one by one until you can figure out what is causing the problem.
     
  18. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    GUI_Tex, id try using firefox safe mode (its in the start menu) and see if u still have problems. if the problems go away, try creating a new profile and cut back on the extensions. who know maybe some extenions conflict with each other or they have overlapping features.
     
  19. GUI_Tex

    GUI_Tex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    189
    No imcompatibilities at all, all the extensions I have make my firefox complete.. :D :D They do make firefox slightly slower, but I can deal with that, since I have for the past few years, and I got used to it. But I do have a second profile with only 3 extensions.. ;)

    I've seen some people with over 90 extensions, and way more themes.

    I think I can say the main reason firefox crashes, or freezes is the memory usage, partly the extensions fault.. but mostly because something is eating all ram, i.e. norton scanning 2 gb, zipped file.. other than I have no problems most of the time.

    thanks.. the script was set to 10 already.
     
  20. Ailric

    Ailric Guest

    I have had Firefox hangs on all versions on different computers. Firefox would not load but the firefox.exe process was running in memory using about 16,000k of mem usage.
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Here is some info on Firefox memory issues and fixes.

    Click
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    Great link. :thumb:
     
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thanks ronjor. :)
     
  24. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I have 13 firefox extensions...:rolleyes: and I also uses my limited acct everytime I surf the webs. :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.