The usual installation problem (TI 2009)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mannorak, Dec 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mannorak

    mannorak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I've spent large parts of the last two weeks attempting to get this software installed on Vista-64 Ultimate..

    Initially, installation told me I had to uninstall TI 11 manually, which I did. However, on resumption of the TI 2009 install, I get the same "installation has been interrupted" message as many others, both here and elsewhere.

    I've tried every remedy I can find -- installing from the command prompt in admin mode, cleaning the registry of all Acronis entries, emptying the temp folder, setting both tmp and temp to a new, empty folder, stopping antivirus, firewall, stopping services. Absolutely no joy -- just that pig-stupid, totally uninformative, "installation has been interrupted" message. Installation gets as far as sticking a shortcut on the desktop, then rolls back and that damn "interrupted" message appears.

    I contacted Acronis Support 9 days ago, and got back a message saying "We are sending you this letter to assure you that your message has been received and is being processed". Well, if it IS being processed, it's being processed very slowly, as I haven't heard anything since.

    Decided to give up and revert to TI 11. EXACTLY the same problem -- installation interrupted. So I've forked out for an upgrade which won't install and which has now resulted in my losing my working TI 11 set-up. Can't even System Restore to an earlier version as I've been struggling with this for so long now that I don't have a restore point earlier than the deinstallation of 11.

    I've had enough. Anyone know the best way to get a refund? As I now have no working Acronis products, I want a refund for both the TI 2009 upgrade and my original TI 11 package.

    TIA.

    steve
     
  2. NumLock

    NumLock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    223
    I believe that there is a conflicting security program that is installed or some other program reminant that was left that is preventing ATI from installing.

    I'm encountering the same problem but with a different product and I've send them an MSI log report which I obtained from following the guide on this knwledgebase article:
    Click Me. Why not send it along with your NFO file (generated by system information) to Acronis Support so they can quickly find the problem.
     
  3. mutagen

    mutagen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    This method worked for me (and others):

    Do not enter your product key when installing. It should install normally, as a 15 day trial copy. Then you can enter your product key to end up with the registered version.
     
  4. mannorak

    mannorak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Oh, believe me, I've tried that! It makes absolutely no difference. Installation still proceeds to the point that it puts a shortcut on the desktop, then fails with the "installation interrupted" message.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Did you try the installation method in Post #7 in this thread?

    If you have Vista's UAC enabled, you might also want to disable it and reboot prior to installing.

    ---

    I've run into the same installation problem on clean Vista installations -- no other programs installed. This problem doesn't seem to only be caused by temp files or conflicts with other programs. There seems to be an actual bug/problem with the installer. The first time, I just tried the install over and over and after 10 or 15 times, it finally finished.
     
  6. mannorak

    mannorak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I've tried everything in Post 7. I've tried disabling UAC. I've tried installing over and over again.

    Thanks for the suggestions, but eventually there comes a time to cut your losses. I've wasted enough time on this already. Refund time, I think...
     
  7. Tyreman

    Tyreman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    107
    Even if you had got in installed and needed to reload a full backup the mbr might be no good
    Seen that on a few vista machines with it.
    Good Luck.
     
  8. apeka

    apeka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hello all,

    I'm new to Acronis software and experienced the same installation/deinstallation problems with True Image Home 2009. What really amazes me, is that Acronis itself seems to be good software, but that the developers seem to neglect these install/uninstall and upgrade problems....I assume these features were also tested in beta first? How can Acronis get awards, tells it users to "upgrade now" to newer versions and ignore all these problems? If Acronis takes his job seriously I expect them to confirm the problems and to release an update soon to tackle these issues for their users. After all we didn't pay for software that ruins our machines.. They also cannot expect regular users like myself to experiment in the deep dungeons of the Windows system to get rid of all Acronis parts when upgrading or uninstalling?? Acronis support in Europe was even worse when I contacted them about this..All they could think of was a Windows system restore (which didn't work anymore because the restore point was out of date)....
    I expect Acronis to sell software, that can be easily installed, upgraded and even uninstalled with no hassle....Maybe I'm unrealistic..:rolleyes:.
    My hint to Acronis users: If you still can uninstall Acronis do so and only use the rescue CD for images....:D.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2008
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mannorak and apeka,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    To expedite the resolution I may recommend you to use our Live Chat service. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.