The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    From the FAQs on the Toolwiz website, TTF does work in much the same way as SD. When they say that TTF creates a virtual environment as a copy of the real system, what they mean is that the virtual environment is derived from the real system, so in that sense can be regarded as a copy of it. Nothing in the real system has been physically copied to create the virtual environment though. Only changes to the real system are recorded in the virtualization cache as they occur. The virtual environment is a logical construct, derived by merging the original disk sectors and the changes recorded in the virtualization cache to create the illusion of a file system and registry that is changing. Upon reboot, the virtualization cache containing the changes is discarded and the system remains in its original state prior to entering the virtual environment. Nothing is physically restored, because nothing ever really changed.

    http://www.toolwiz.com/en/products/toolwiz-time-freeze/faqs/

    Sandboxie is similar to the extent that file system and registry writes are redirected in order to isolate sandboxed applications and prevent them from changing the real system. The difference is that, whereas SD and TTF work at the disk sector level to virtualize an entire volume(s), Sandboxie works at the file system level to contain all file system and registry changes within the sandbox container folder for applications running inside the sandbox.
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,007
    Location:
    .
    Maybe pic offers why I was looking for Shadow Defender virtual environment.
    ToolWiz and Sandbox.PNG
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,488
    Location:
    UK
    New SD user here (623)

    It's on Win7 without issues so far.

    Will be putting it on Win 10 too.
     
  4. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, I understand why you would have thought that. The cache is where changed disk sectors are held, but it isn't the same thing as the virtual environment. Similarly with Sandboxie, the concept of a sandbox is more than just the container folder used to hold file system and registry changes. Terms like virtual environment and sandbox are abstract ideas and shouldn't be confused with the physical mechanisms used to implement and enforce them.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,488
    Location:
    UK
    SD now on Win 10 64 bit

    Only issue I have had so far was the same one I had with Win 7. Only way it would register was if I entered the key manually
     
  6. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,084
    re NoVirusThanks Exe Radar pro list problem coming re-booting from Shadow Mode

    I think I remember this problem from some time ago. As I remember Tony looked at this but I can't remember the outcome.
    Can you please remind me what you expect to happen when you leave Shadow Mode and restart the machine instead of '(AlertWhiteList.db) is reset to zero (emptied)'?

    I suppose my question is, Are you saying that when you enter Shadow Mode the Exe Radar Pro list was 'populated' and after leaving Shadow Mode and going into normal mode the list was then empty?


    Patrick

     
  7. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,084
    Tony does not have English as his first language and is a single person developer and feels overfaced with big chunks of English text. Tony can communicate in English but I don't think he finds it easy, as many Wilders members also are probably not comfortable with dealing with big chunks of Chinese.
    Tony has an account here (as I remember) but doesn't use it; he has in the past posted to forums but rarely.
    I do not have to act as a proxy, I do it (as time permits) as my contribution to try to help develop Shadow Defender and to help fellow Wilders members and Shadow Defender users.
    I regard Shadow Defender as one of the best pieces of sofware that I've ever seen. I use it every day, I would not like to be without it and have followed it since it was first released.
    I used to be Global Moderator on Tony's original forum (which later collapsed under spam attack and a forum software glitch which had nothing to do with Shadow Defender or Tony ), this co-incided with Tony being away for some time and unavailable. During this time we were spammed very heavily with the worst sorts of spam. I used to spend hours every day trying to cope with it along with threats. As Global moderator I didn't have the full admin permissions to fix the forum and it became un-usable during the period of Tony's absence.
    Later on Tony's return (with Tony's express permission) I started a forum myself 'The Official Shadow Defender Forum' which I ran for some time from my own resources.
    As a single focus forum and the software itself being largely stable (over a long period of time), the forum never really got the momentum going to allow it to be interesting enough or have enough throughput and dialogue to warrant continuing with it.
    Since Tony's return and over the years I have tried to develop a simple consistant communication channel. Tony's written English is much better these days and I think that helps.
    Anyone who wants to communicate with Tony directly can do that by emailing support@shadowdefender.com
    I hope that this explains things a bit.

    Patrick
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yes but not so often. It happens randomly not very often. However, I am suspicious about the way ERP works on its lists, so ERP maybe needs a bit of improvement or change the way it handles its lists in order to work along with Shadow Defender flawlessly.
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,007
    Location:
    .
    Yes, with Shadow Defender. I expected to find the cache where changed disk sectors are held. Thanks!
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Funny, I've never seen this.
     
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,007
    Location:
    .
    Do you run File Exclusions / Commit Now...?
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    Registry Exclusion List: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\NoVirusThanks
    File Exclusion List: C:\ProgramData\NoVirusThanks\EXE Radar Pro\Data\*

    This is the way I manage SD for ERP to hold its own data.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I have a few exclusions, but not any for ERP. I do occasionally use commit now. Biggest difference between me and Mister X is I run win 7 x64 Pro
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    How is SD working with SSD's these days?

    Thanks,

    Daniel ;)
     
  15. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    Daniel, I have a laptop SSD and runs with no problems.
     
  16. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    I can tell you... simply great! :cool:
     
  17. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    No problems at all.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks maybe I will give it a try again it's been 5 years since I had SD on my first gen SSD's and I had to reinstall the OS. Now for the new Laptop!

    Cheers,

    Daniel :)
     
  19. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,362
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Flawless so far on Win 8 (64 bit). I still have to try it on my Vista (32bit)...
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    never, i rather backing up my work into the cloud or an USB stick. exclusions = open door to malwares into the real system (unless you sandbox the excluded folders)
     
  21. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Regarding exclusions, I have ublocko excluded in SD and chrome bookmarks but that shouldn't be a big security threat should it?
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    should be ok
     
  23. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,488
    Location:
    UK
    Using SD on Windows 10 I chose exit Shadow Mode on shutdown.

    However on Win 10 shutdown is not a 'real' shutdown as you know, so when I turned on machine today I was still in Shadow Mode.

    Only a restart on Win 10 takes me out of Shadow Mode.
     
  24. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Good. Thanks
     
  25. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    "Version 1.4.0.629 - May 3, 2016
    New: Add the ability to exclude HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SAM Registry Item.
    Fixed: Some minor bugs and changes."

    What is special about this registry key?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.